Thursday 21 December 2017 9:48am


Congratulations to our seven staff members who received School of Biomedcial Sciences (BMS) Awards for their outstanding contribution to research and teaching throughout 2017.

The Awards acknowledge the success and achievements of all staff in the five BMS departments. Head of Anatomy, Professor Neil Gemmell, was delighted Anatomy picked up seven of the thirteen awards on offer.

“Each of these recipients is very deserving of the honour and recognition given to them. I'm very happy their outstanding achievements and sustained contributions to teaching and research in this Department have been recognised in this way.”

“I am very proud of the hard work and excellent results all our staff have achieved throughout this year. 2017 has been an outstanding year for the Department and this success can only be achieved through everyone working together.”

The award recipients are:
Ilona Kokay - BMS Research Support Focused Contribution Award

Rebecca Bird - BMS Distinguished Teaching Fellow/PPF Science Award

Andrew McNaughton - BMS Research Support Distinguished Contribution Award

George Dias - BMS Commercialisation Researcher Award

Jo-Ann Stanton - BMS Pasifika Research Award 2017

Niels Hammer - BMS Emerging Researcher Award

Lisa Matisoo-Smith - BMS Kaupapa Māori Research Award 2017

Photo (L to R): Lisa Matisoo-Smith, Ilona Kokay, Jo-Ann Stanton

Back to top