Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Investigators, collaborators and Advisory Board

The BEATS Research Team is necessarily multidisciplinary, with wide-ranging expertise:

  • Exercise science
  • Behavioural medicine
  • Māori health
  • Public health
  • Transport
  • Geographic information science
  • Health promotion
  • Geography
  • Biostatistics

In addition, the team involves national and international research collaborations and an Advisory Board group with representatives from stakeholders and the wider community.

The team also involves research students, research assistants and volunteers (more details are available here).


Dr Sandy Mandic, BEATS Principal Investigator
Research Affiliate, Centre for Sustainability, University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand
Adjunct Professor, School of Sport and Recreation, Faculty of Health and Environmental Sciences, Auckland University of Technology, Auckland, New Zealand

Interdisciplinary and multi-sector approaches to physical activity and health with links to transportation, built environment and sustainability inspire Sandy's academic activities. Her professional training and experience span Europe, Canada, United States and New Zealand. She has a strong track record in successful implementation of collaborative interdisciplinary research projects and comprehensive dissemination of research findings to different sectors. Previously Sandy worked as Associate Professor and the director of the Transport Research Network research theme at the University of Otago. In addition to her academic work, Sandy is a member of the Project Management Institute (PMI).

Photo_Sandy Mandic_Web
Photo_Debbie Hopkins_WebPhoto_Enrique_Garcia_WebPhoto_Kirsten Coppell_Web
Associate Professor Debbie Hopkins,
University of Oxford,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Dr Enrique García Bengoechea,
University of Limerick,
Limerick, Ireland
Associate Professor Kirsten Coppell,
Dunedin School of Medicine,
Dunedin, New Zealand
Photo_John Spence_WebPhoto_Anna Rolleston_WebPhoto_Michael Keall_Web
Professor John Spence
University of Alberta,
Edmonton, Canada
Dr Anna Rolleston
University of Waikato,
Hamilton, New Zealand
Associate Professor Michael Keall,
Department of Public Health,
Wellington, New Zealand


Photo_Christina Ergler_WebPhoto_Tony Moore_WebPhoto_Susan Sandretto_Web
Dr Christina Ergler,
Department of Geography,
Dunedin, New Zealand
Associate Professor Antoni Moore,
School of Surveying,
Dunedin, New Zealand
Associate Professor Susan Sandretto,
College of Education,
Dunedin, New Zealand
Photo_Palma Chillon_WebPhoto_Melody Smith_WebPhoto_Jenny Mindell_Web
Associate Professor Palma Chillón,
University of Granada,
Granada, Spain
Associate Professor Melody Smith,
The University of Auckland,
Professor Jennifer S. Mindell,
UCL (University College London),
London, United Kingdom
Photo_Ana Queralt_WebPhoto_Javier Molina_WebPhoto_Susana Aznar_Web
Associate Professor Ana Queralt,
University of Valencia,
Valencia, Spain
Professor Javier Molina-García,
University of Valencia,
Valencia, Spain
Dr Susana Aznar Lain,
University of Castilla-La Mancha,
Toledo, Spain

Advisory Board Members

Photo_Gavin Kidd_WebPhoto_Gordon Wilson_WebPhoto_Janet Young_Web
Gavin Kidd,
Dunedin Secondary Schools
Dunedin, New Zealand
Gordon Wilson,
Dunedin Secondary Schools
Partnership, (retired) 
Dunedin, New Zealand
Janet Young,
Dunedin City Council,
Dunedin, New Zealand
Photo_Janet Stephenson_WebPhoto_Finau Taungapeau_WebPhoto_Sarah Connolly_Web
Professor Janet Stephenson
Centre for Sustainability, University of Otago
Dunedin, New Zealand
Finau Taungapeau,
Pacific Community Representative,
Dunedin, New Zealand
Sarah Connolly,
Dunedin, New Zealand

Former BEATS Advisory Board Members

  • Ms Stacey Hitchcock, Dunedin City Council (2019-2020)
  • Mr Nick Sargent, Dunedin City Council (2017-2019)
  • Mr Graeme Rice, New Zealand Transport Agency (2017-2019)
  • Mrs Charlotte Flaherty, Dunedin City Council (2013-2017)
  • Dr Tara Duncan, Department of Tourism, University of Otago (2013-2016)
  • Mr Andrew Lonie, Recreation Planning Officer, Dunedin City Council (2013-2015)
  • Mrs Ruth Zeinert, Project Manager, Getting Dunedin Active (2013-2015)