Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

2022 BMS Staff End of Year Function and Awards

Monday 12 December 2022 2:45pm

BMS_2022_award winners_650

The five departments comprising the School of Biomedical Sciences gathered last week to celebrate the achievements of the past year and find out who won the teaching and research awards.

Congratulations to Ruth Topless, Shar Snoeck and Elaine Emmerson from Biochemistry for winning School of Biomedical Sciences awards this year.

Shar won the Distinguished Professional Practice Fellow/Teaching Fellow award for the amazing teaching she does with undergraduate classes. She is a gifted communicator who inspires many young people to continue on the biochemistry path.

Ruth won the Research Support Outstanding Contribution award for her dedicated research work in the Merriman Lab. Sadly we say goodbye to her as she leaves the University for a new position doing environmental-related work for the Council.

Technically Elaine works for the Genetics program, but since she carries out her essential work supporting the Genetics Labs within the Biochemistry building, and has long been a part of our immediate community, we are very proud that she has been given the Teaching Support Sustained Contribution award.

The School celebrations were held at Cumberland College this year, a welcome change of venue that allowed party-goers to enjoy the sunshine outside and sausages from the BBQ.

Attendees also had fun assessing the entries for the new 'Bake and Brew' competition.

Photo above from left: Ruth Topless, Shar Snoeck, and Elaine Emmerson.

Professors Greg Cook (Microbiology & Immunology), Sally McCormick (Biochemistry), and Neil Gemmell (Anatomy) chew the fat.

From left: Associate Professor Sigurd Wilbanks, Associate Professor Liz Ledgerwood, and Sam Jamieson (all Biochemistry).

Dr Alana Alexander (Anatomy), Dr Marc Bailie (Biochemistry), and Dr Nathan Kenny (Biochemistry).

Ruth Topless (Biochemistry), Dr Tanya Major (Biochemistry), Dr Anna Gosling (Anatomy), and Dr Murray Cadzow (Biochemistry).

BMS_2022_bake and brew competition_650
Entries in the "Bake and Brew" competition, including a neutrophil cake (top left), 96-well plates (top, second from left), and a Gemmell lab Loch Ness monster cake (top right).