Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Head of Department

Peter Dearden

Peter Dearden

Professor and Head of Department
Room 2.30
+64 3 479 7864
hod.biochemistry@otago.ac.nz

Group leaders

Louise Bicknell image

Louise Bicknell

Associate Professor
Room 2.25
+64 3 479 5056
louise.bicknell@otago.ac.nz
Mik Black

Mik Black

Professor
Room 3.16c
+64 3 479 7831
mik.black@otago.ac.nz
Chris Brown

Chris Brown

Associate Professor
Room 2.26
+64 3 479 5201
chris.brown@otago.ac.nz
Lynette Brownfield

Lynette Brownfield

Associate Professor
Room 3.22
+64 3 479 5151
lynette.brownfield@otago.ac.nz
Alan Carne

Alan Carne

Associate Professor
Room 1.28
+64 3 479 7855
alan.carne@otago.ac.nz
Catherine Day 2017

Catherine Day

Professor
Room 1.21
+64 3 479 7864
catherine.day@otago.ac.nz
Sarah Dieremeier

Sarah Diermeier

Senior Lecturer
Room 2.03c
+64 3 479 7854
sarah.diermeier@otago.ac.nz
Anita Dunbler

Anita Dunbier

Associate Professor
Room 3.26e
+64 3 479 9258
anita.dunbier@otago.ac.nz
Julian Eaton-Rye

Julian Eaton-Rye

Professor
Room 3.10
+64 3 479 7865
julian.eaton-rye@otago.ac.nz
Paul Gardner

Paul Gardner

Associate Professor
Room 3.15b
+64 3 479 7264
paul.gardner@otago.ac.nz
Parry Guilford

Parry Guilford

Research Professor
Room 3.26g
+64 3 479 7673
parry.guilford@otago.ac.nz
StephanieHughes

Stephanie Hughes

Professor
Room 2.11
+64 3 479 3761
stephanie.hughes@otago.ac.nz
Nathan Kenny

Nathan Kenny

Lecturer
Room 3.24
+64 3 479 9592
nathan.kenny@otago.ac.nz
Kurt_Krause_2

Kurt Krause

Professor
Room 1.07b
+64 3 479 7863
kurt.krause@otago.ac.nz
Webster Centre Steering Committee member, Professor Iain Lamont.

Iain Lamont

Professor
Room 2.28
+64 3 479 7869
iain.lamont@otago.ac.nz
Liz Ledgerwood

Liz Ledgerwood

Associate Professor
Room 2.01c
+64 3 479 5195
liz.ledgerwood@otago.ac.nz
Peter Mace

Peter Mace

Associate Professor
Room 1.23
+64 3 479 7845
peter.mace@otago.ac.nz
Richard Macknight

Richard Macknight

Professor
Room 3.21
+64 3 479 5149
richard.macknight@otago.ac.nz
Craig Marshall

Craig Marshall

Associate Professor
Room 1.01f
+64 3 479 7570
craig.marshall@otago.ac.nz
Sally McCormick

Sally McCormick

Professor
Room 2.01b
+64 3 479 7840
sally.mccormick@otago.ac.nz
Warren Tate

Warren Tate

Emeritus Professor
Room 1.14
+64 3 479 7839
warren.tate@otago.ac.nz
Sigurd Wilbanks

Sigurd Wilbanks

Associate Professor
Room 1.30
+64 3 479 7850
sigurd.wilbanks@otago.ac.nz

Research-only staff

Katerina Achilleos

Katerina Achilleos

Postdoctoral Fellow
Room 3.19
katerina.achilleos@otago.ac.nz
Karla Araya-Castro

Karla Araya-Castro

Postdoctoral Fellow
Room 3.18
+64 3 479 3757
karla.arayacastro@otago.ac.nz
Fareeda Barzak.

Fareeda Barzak

Postdoctoral Fellow
Room 1.16
fareeda.barzak@otago.ac.nz
Dr Indranil Basak

Indranil Basak

Research Fellow
Room 2.16
+64 3 479 3570
indranil.basak@otago.ac.nz
Nicola Bougen-Zhukov

Nicola Bougen-Zhukov

Research Fellow
Room 3.26
+64 3 479 7868
nicola.bougen-zhukov@otago.ac.nz
MargiButler

Margi Butler

Scientific Officer
Room 3.13b
+64 3 479 5688
margi.butler@otago.ac.nz
Ashley Campbell.

Ashley Campbell

Postdoctoral Fellow
Room 1.07
ashley.campbell@otago.ac.nz
AugustineChen

Augustine Chen

Senior Research Fellow
Room 3.26
+64 3 479 7868
augustine.chen@otago.ac.nz
David Chyou

Te-Yuan (David) Chyou

Postdoctoral Fellow
Room 2.27
+64 3 479 7875
david.chyou@otago.ac.nz
Kimberley Dainty.

Kimberley Dainty

Postdoctoral Fellow
Room 1.01e
+64 3 479 7861
kimberley.dainty@otago.ac.nz
Rob Day

Rob Day

Research Fellow
Room 3.26
+64 3 479 7868
rob.day@otago.ac.nz
Lyvianne Decourtye

Lyvianne Decourtye

Research Fellow
Room 3.26
+64 3 479 7868
lyvianne.decourtye@otago.ac.nz
Michael Dunnet.

Michael Dunnet

Postdoctoral Fellow
Room 3.26
michael.dunnet@otago.ac.nz
Matthias Fellner

Matthias Fellner

Research Fellow
Room 1.16
+64 3 479 7897
matthias.fellner@otago.ac.nz
Roseanna Gamlen-Greene

Roseanna Gamlen-Greene

Postdoctoral Fellow
Room 3.19
TBA
roseanna.gamlen-greene@otago.ac.nz
Tanis Godwin

Tanis Godwin

Research Fellow
Room 3.26
+64 3 479 7868
tanis.godwin@otago.ac.nz
Sarah Inwood.

Sarah Inwood

Postdoctoral Fellow
Room 1.01e
+64 3 479 7869
sarah.inwood@otago.ac.nz
Joseph Ghulin

Joseph Guhlin

Post Doctoral Fellow
Room 1.01
+64 3 479 7861
joseph.guhlin@otago.ac.nz
Rowan Herridge

Rowan Herridge

Research Fellow
Room 3.08
+64 3 479 7872
rowan.herridge@otago.ac.nz
Torsten Kleffmann

Torsten Kleffmann

Senior Research Fellow
Room 1.19b
+64 3 479 7867
torsten.kleffmann@otago.ac.nz
Chung Shen Lim

Chun Shen Lim

Research Fellow
Room 3.15e
+64 3 479 xxxx
chunshen.lim@otago.ac.nz
Tyler McInnes

Tyler McInnes

Scientific Officer (Genomics Aoteroa)
Room 1.14(a)
+64 3 479 5964
tyler.mcinnes@otago.ac.nz
Adam Middleton

Adam Middleton

Senior Research Fellow
Room 1.24
+64 3 479 7870
adam.middleton@otago.ac.nz
Prasanth Padala

Prasanth Padala

Scientific Officer
Room 1.16
+64 3 479 7870
prasanth.padala@otago.ac.nz
Liam Turk

Liam Turk

Postdoctoral Fellow
Room 1.16
+64 3 479 7897
liam.turk@otago.ac.nz
DonghuiZou

Donghui Zou

Scientific Officer
Room 3.26
+64 3 479 7868
donghui.zou@otago.ac.nz

Teaching-only staff

Annika Bokor

Annika Bokor

Professional Practice Fellow
Room 1.32
+64 3 479 5628
annika.bokor@otago.ac.nz
Karen Knapp

Karen Knapp

Genetics Teaching Fellow
Genetics Hub, Ground Floor
+64 3 479 5130
karen.knapp@otago.ac.nz
Gillian MacKay

Gillian Mackay

Genetics Senior Teaching Fellow
Room G11
+64 3 479 7937
gillian.mackay@otago.ac.nz
TanyaMajor

Tanya Major

Teaching Fellow
MEG05 (Mellor Building) and Room 1.32
+64 3 479 5013
tanya.major@otago.ac.nz
Ben Peters

Ben Peters

Professional Practice Fellow
Room 1.25
+64 3 479 7851
benjamin.peters@otago.ac.nz
Nicole Power

Nicole Power

Senior Teaching Fellow, BIOC 192 Coordinator
Room 1.32
+64 3 479 5130
nicole.power@otago.ac.nz
Shar Snoeck.

Shar Snoeck

Senior Teaching Fellow
Room 1.26a
+64 3 479 7083
sharleen.rae-whitcombe@otago.ac.nz

Professional staff

Michelle Allan - Day Lab

Michelle Allan

Genetics Teaching Programme Administrator
Room G11
+64 3 479 7937
michelle.allan@otago.ac.nz
Emily Bisset

Emily Bisset

Lead Administrator
Room 2.25
+64 3 479 5643
emily.bisset@otago.ac.nz
Linda McNeill

Linda Blase

Client Services Administrator
Room 2.30
+64 3 479 5797
linda.blase@otago.ac.nz
Jackie Daniels

Jackie Daniels

Compliance Officer
Room 2.20
+64 3 470 4686
jackie.daniels@otago.ac.nz
Petra Dearden.

Petra Dearden

Administrative Assistant, Dearden Lab
Room 1.01 and offsite
petra.dearden@otago.ac.nz
Emma Deeney

Emma Deeney

Genetics Technician
Room G.12
+64 3 479 9042
emma.deeney@otago.ac.nz
Elaine Emmerson

Elaine Emmerson

Genetics Head Technician
Room G.03
+64 3 479 9042
elaine.emmerson@otago.ac.nz
Claire Grant.

Claire Grant

Communications Advisor, Genomics Aotearoa
Room 1.14a and offsite
claire.grant@otago.ac.nz
Megan Griffiths

Megan Griffiths

Finance Associate
Room 2.20, Mon – Fri 7.30 am – 3.30 pm.
+64 3 479 7259
megan.griffiths@otago.ac.nz
DarrenHart

Darren Hart

ICT Manager
Room 2.05
+64 3 479 4965
darren.hart@otago.ac.nz
Aaron Mead

Aaron Mead

IT Support Specialist
Room 2.05
+64 21 2790512
aaron.mead@otago.ac.nz
Jess McLean.

Jess McLean

Communications Advisor, Genomics Aotearoa
Room 1.14a
jess.mclean@otago.ac.nz
Katie Morris

Katie Morris

Technician
Room 1.05
+64 3 479 7858
kathryn.morris@otago.ac.nz
Shereen Murugayah

Shereen Murugayah

Senior Technician
Room 1.05
+64 3 479 7858
shereen.murugayah@otago.ac.nz
Aliya Rosli

Aliya Rosli

Client Services Administrator
Room 2.30
+64 3 479 7863
bioc.reception@otago.ac.nz
Teena Joyce

Teena Rohtmets-Joyce

Client Services Administrator
Room 2.30a
+64 3 479 5614
teena.joyce@otago.ac.nz
Jayashee Panjabi.

Jayashree Panjabi

Operations Manager, Genomics Aeoteroa
Room 1.02a
jayashree.panjabi@otago.ac.nz
Miriam Sharpe

Miriam Sharpe

Website, Publicity and Outreach
Room 2.20
+64 3 479 7704
miriam.sharpe@otago.ac.nz
Lynn Slobbe

Lynn Slobbe

Purchasing and Finance Administrator
Room G.11
+64 3 479 7862
lynn.slobbe@otago.ac.nz
Peter Small

Peter Small

Building and Electronics Maintenance Manager
Room G.10
+64 3 479 7229
peter.small@otago.ac.nz
Pauline Uyseco

Pauline Uyseco

Technician
Room 1.05
+64 3 479 7858
pauline.uyseco@otago.ac.nz
Tessa Stratton.

Tessa Stratton

Technician
Room 1.05
+64 3 479 7858
tessa.stratton@otago.ac.nz

Research laboratory staff

Marc Bailie

Marc Bailie

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 3.25
+64 3 479 3757
marc.bailie@otago.ac.nz
Abigail Burgess

Abigail Burgess

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 2.03
+64 3 479 7860
abigail.burgess@otago.ac.nz
DJ Champion

DJ Champion

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 2.17a
+64 3 479 TBA
dj.champion@otago.ac.nz
Caitlin Dunstan-Harrison

Caitlin Dunstan-Harrison

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 2.03
+64 3 479 7860
caitlin.dunstan-harrison@otago.ac.nz
TinaEdgar

Tina Edgar

Senior Technician
Room 1.11
+64 3 479 7841
tina.edgar@otago.ac.nz
Ashleigh Frewen

Ashleigh Frewen

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 2.02
+64 3 479 7860
ashleigh.frewen@otago.ac.nz
Sravya Garimella

Sravya Garimella

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 2.27
+64 3 479 7875
sravya.garimella@otago.ac.nz
Sam Jamieson - Prep Room

Sam Jamieson

Senior Technician
Room 2.03
+64 3 479 7860
sam.jamieson@otago.ac.nz

Michele Krause

Michele Krause

Technician
Room 1.07
+64 3 479 7859
michele.krause@otago.ac.nz
Abishek Kumar

Abhishek Kumar

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 1.2
+64 3 479 7542
abhishek.kumar@otago.ac.nz
Jawaria Munir

Jawaria Munir

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 112
+64 3 4797542
jawaria.munir@otago.ac.nz
Prasanthi Namburi

Prasanthi Namburi

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 3.08
+64 3 479 7872
prasanthi.namburi@otago.ac.nz
Helen Kim Opel-Reading

Helen Opel-Reading

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 1.07
+64 3 479 7859
helen.opel-reading@otago.ac.nz
KatieBourne

Katie Peppercorn

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 1.11
+64 3 479 7841
katie.peppercorn@otago.ac.nz
Claudia Rossig

Claudia Rossig

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 1.16
+64 3 479 7870
claudia.rossig@otago.ac.nz
Shilpa Saseendran.

Shilpa Saseendran

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 1.26
s.saseendrannair@otago.ac.nz
Rosie Sullivan

Rosie Sullivan

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 2.25
+64 3 479 TBA
rosie.sullivan@otago.ac.nz
Shiny Varghese

Shiny Varghese

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 3.08
+64 3 479 7872
shiny.varghese@otago.ac.nz
Janet Xu

Janet Xu

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 2.16
+64 3 479 3570
janet.xu@otago.ac.nz
Gene Zhu

Gene Zhu

Assistant Research Fellow
Room 1.21
+64 3 479 37870
jingyi.zhu@otago.ac.nz
Back to top