Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people

Ō mātou tāngata


Biomaterials research lead

Associate Professor Azam Ali, biomaterials science and engineering

Lead researchers

  • Professor Mauro Farella, dental biomaterials and implantable medical devices
  • Professor George Dias, bone substitutes and bone tissue engineering
  • Associate Professor Stephen Moratti, medical gels
  • Associate Professor Khoon Lim, hydrogel biomaterials and 3D bioprinting
  • Dr Maree Gould, dental biomaterials
  • Professor Karl Lyons, restorative dental biomaterials
  • Associate Professor Rajesh Katare, therapeutic biomaterials including miRNA, Wound care, Cardiac ECM
  • Dr Andrew Clarkson, neural tissue regeneration and soft tissues regeneration
  • Dr Michelle McConnell, antimicrobial biomaterials and in vitro / in vivo evaluation
  • Associate Professor Yusuf Cakmak, Associate Professor, Department of Anatomy, and Brain Health Research Centre. His research focuses on the neuromodulation of internal organs and the brain structures to modulate their functions and blood flow.
  • Dr Shakila Rizwan, Senior Lecturer, School of Pharmacy, and Brain Health Research Centre. Her Research focuses on biomaterials, formulation and physicochemical characterisation of lipid and polymer-based nano- and microparticle drug carriers system.

^ Top of page


Imaging research lead

Professor Anthony Butler (Radiology, Christchurch)

Lead researchers

Honorary researchers

  • Dr Nadia Mitchell (Bioengineering, Otago)
  • Dr Niels de Ruiter (Bioengineering, Otago)
  • Dr Aamir Raja (Bioengineering, Otago)
  • Dr Mahdieh Moghiseh (Bioengineering, Otago)

^ Top of page

Point-of-care technologies

Point-of-care research lead

Associate Professor Yusuf Ozgur Cakmak, Wearables, mHealth and non-contact systems.

Lead researchers

^ Top of page

Regenerative medicine

The team, led from University of Otago Christchurch campus, consists of mechanical engineers, clinicians, process engineers, mathematicians and surgeons.

Regenerative medicine research lead

Professor Tim Woodfield (Orthopaedics, Christchurch)

Lead researchers

A large number of postgraduate students have worked alongside our researchers to achieve their qualifications.
Visit our Regenerative Medicine students page.

^ Top of page

Research Facilitator