Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Staff Awards & Acknowlegdements

Congratulations to our staff

OUSA Supervisor of the YearOUSA
Associate Professor Holger Regenbrecht (Information Science) has been named Commerce Supervisor of the year in the annual OUSA supervisor of the year awards, in which students nominate and vote for their favourite supervisor.

Holger, who was named in the top 14 of the awards in both 2012 and 2011, has been working in the fields of Virtual and Augmented Reality for over 15 years. His research interests include Human-Computer Interaction (HCI), Applied Computer Science and Information Technology, (collaborative) Augmented reality, 3D Teleconferencing, psychological aspects of Mixed Reality, three-dimensional user interfaces (3DU) and computer-aided therapy and rehabilitation.

Teaching award nominations

Two Otago Business School staff, Peter Whigham and David Bishop, were nominated for the 2014 University of Otago Awards for Excellence in Teaching, which recognise sustained excellence in tertiary teaching. They will also be submitted for the Ako Aotearoa National Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards.

Associate Professor Peter Whigham is Director of the Spatial Information Research Centre (SIRC) and actively pursues research interests in spatial modelling, theoretical population genetics and evolutionary computation models.

Professional Practice Fellow David Bishop is based in Marketing. He has been researching branding in not-for-profit organisations. He has marketing management experience in food manufacturing and marketing companies, financial institutions and not-for-profit organisations, and has been one of the Top 10 Teachers at the University Otago on several occasions.

EQUIS logo AACSB logo AAPBS logo Global Business School Network logo Fair Trade Certified PIM logo QS Stars logo. World Leisure Organisation logo