Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

2017 Canon scholarships awarded

Clocktower at sunset

Tuesday, 4 April 2017

Canon scholarship 2017 image
The 2017 Canon Scholarship recipients. Photo: Sharron Bennett.

Twenty four elite undergraduate commerce students from the University of Otago Business School have been awarded Canon Excellence Award Scholarships.

The scholarships are an annual award, presented to the top undergraduate students on the prestigious Dean’s List for the best BCom students in each year.

The students, who were presented with certificates at a ceremony at the University, will receive $1,000 towards their studies.

Professor Robin Gauld, Dean of the Otago Business School said the awards celebrate academic excellence. “These students, some of whom also received the scholarship last year, are from throughout New Zealand, many combining their commerce studies with other degrees. They are at the top of their field; we’re proud to be recognising their efforts and in awe of what they have already achieved.”

His advice to the students was to continue to use their skills to be a force for good.

Canon New Zealand Ltd National Sales Manager Tony Phibbs said Canon is thrilled to be acknowledging a passion for excellence.

The 2017 recipients are:

  • Alice Averill
  • Andy Black
  • Jacob Bird
  • Chris Brokenshire
  • Nick Brokenshire
  • Tom Caughley
  • Winson Cheok
  • Freddie Cleverley
  • Harry Flett
  • Anna Glier
  • Scott Herbert
  • Sian Horn
  • Ben Hurley
  • Hanlin Johnstone
  • Cam Keelty
  • Kate Kenna
  • Rohan Luthra
  • Hugh Mooney
  • Hugh Nixon
  • Moriah Osborne
  • Rhianne Price
  • Han Sun
  • Nicole Warren
  • Josh Watson

A list of Otago experts available for media comment is available elsewhere on this website.

Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago, or their respective organisation. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.

EQUIS logo AACSB logo AAPBS logo Global Business School Network logo Fair Trade Certified PIM logo QS Stars logo. World Leisure Organisation logo