Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Otago Business School leads the way in setting United Nation’s development goal

Monday, 18 December 2017

Otago Business School Strategy 2018 - 2022The University of Otago Business School is one of the first business schools worldwide to adopt a United Nations development goal as part of its strategic mission.

The School has released its 2018-2022 strategy, with the vision to be a world-leading business school, internationally recognised for innovation, sustainability and excellence.

It commitments to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals is underpinned by four new strategic focuses:

  • Health, well-being and social justice
  • Māori and Pacific peoples and businesses
  • Environmental sustainability
  • Business, technological and economic development

While every United Nation country including New Zealand has committed to these Sustainable Development Goals, Otago is the first New Zealand business school to incorporate them into its planning.

Otago Business School Dean Professor Robin Gauld said it’s a way of integrating sustainable thinking into every day practice for teaching and for the students who are the emerging business practioners of the future.

“We’re excited about leading the way in committing to principles that guide the sustainable development of the economy and products and services - it’s putting into practice being a force for good.

This also means giving business people the tools they need to meet the challenges of providing long-term sustainability for individual businesses, organisations and not-for-profits, for people and for the environment.“

The Business School’s five year strategy will also emphasise supporting entrepreneurial activity, building on the existing entrepreneurial ethos to grow Dunedin as a start-up destination.

“We want to see entrepreneurship, right from staring up businesses through to partnerships with the business community, as integral to everything that happens in the business school,” Professor Gauld said.

The strategy has been developed this year in consultation with staff. It was presented to staff during the inaugural Otago Business School awards ceremony, established to recognise innovation and excellence in teachin, research and service within the school.

2017 Otago Business School award recipients:

  • Best PhD Student - Adeel Akmal (Management)
  • Best OBS Citizen, Academic - Craig Lee (Tourism)
  • Best OBS Citizen, Academic - Grant Dick (Information Science)
  • Best OBS Citizen, Support Staff - Heather Cooper (Information Science)
  • Best OBS Citizen, Support Staff - Susan Steer (Executive Programmes)
  • Best Contribution to the Research Environment - Janet Hoek (Marketing)
  • Research Impact Award - Janet Hoek (Marketing)
  • Research Collaboration or Group - ASPIRE2025
  • Honourable Mention for Research Collaboration or Group - Otago Energy Research Centre
  • Best Emerging Researcher - Mingming Cheng (Tourism)
  • Best Emerging Researcher - Sherlock Licorish (Information Science)
  • Best Emerging Researcher - Dennis Wesselbaum (Economics)
  • Best Teaching Innovation - Sherlock Licorish (Information Science)
  • Best Tutor or Professional Practice Fellow - David Bishop (Marketing)

EQUIS logo AACSB logo AAPBS logo Global Business School Network logo Fair Trade Certified PIM logo QS Stars logo. World Leisure Organisation logo