Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Business School leads the way in commitment to UN Sustainable Development Goals

Tuesday, 19 December 2017

Otago Business School Dean Professor Robin Gauld presents the School's inaugural awards last week.

The University of Otago Business School is one of the first business schools worldwide to adopt the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals as part of its strategic mission.

The School has released its 2018-2022 strategy, with the vision to be a world-leading business school, internationally recognised for innovation, sustainability and excellence.

Its commitment to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals is underpinned by four new strategic focuses:

  • Health, well-being and social justice
  • Māori and Pacific peoples and businesses
  • Environmental sustainability
  • Business, technological and economic development

While every United Nation country including New Zealand has committed to these Sustainable Development Goals, Otago is the first New Zealand business school to incorporate them into its planning.

Otago Business School Dean Professor Robin Gauld said it’s a way of integrating sustainable thinking into everyday practice for teaching and for the students who are the emerging business practitioners of the future.

“We’re excited about leading the way in committing to principles that guide the sustainable development of the economy and products and services - it’s putting into practice being a force for good.

This also means giving business people the tools they need to meet the challenges of providing long-term sustainability for individual businesses, organisations and not-for-profits, for people and for the environment.

The Otago Business School's five-year strategic imperatives.

The Business School’s five-year strategy will also emphasise supporting entrepreneurial activity, building on the existing entrepreneurial ethos to grow Dunedin as a start-up destination.

“We want to see entrepreneurship, right from starting up businesses through to partnerships with the business community, as integral to everything that happens in the business school,” Professor Gauld said.

The strategy has been developed this year in consultation with staff. It was presented to staff during the inaugural Otago Business School awards ceremony, established to recognise innovation and excellence in teaching, research and service within the school.

2017 Otago Business School award recipients:

Adeel Akmal (Management) – Best PhD Student
Craig Lee (Tourism) – Best OBS Citizen, Academic
Grant Dick (Information Science) – Best OBS Citizen, Academic
Heather Cooper (Information Science) – Best OBS Citizen, Support Staff
Susan Steer (Executive Programmes) – Best OBS Citizen, Support Staff
Janet Hoek (Marketing) – Best Contribution to the Research Environment
Janet Hoek (Marketing) – Research Impact Award
ASPIRE2025 – Research Collaboration or Group
Otago Energy Research Centre – Honourable Mention for Research Collaboration or Group
Mingming Cheng (Tourism) – Best Emerging Researcher
Sherlock Licorish (Information Science) – Best Emerging Researcher
Dennis Wesselbaum (Economics) – Best Emerging Researcher
Sherlock Licorish (Information Science) – Best Teaching Innovation
David Bishop (Marketing) – Best Tutor or Professional Practice Fellow

EQUIS logo AACSB logo AAPBS logo Fair Trade Certified PACIBER logo PIM logo