Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Research Affiliates

The Centre for Sustainability works with many researchers from within New Zealand and around the world. Research Affiliates are valued collaborators who have made a significant contribution to the Centre generally, and/or to specific research projects. They include individuals from other departments at Otago University and from other Universities, Institutions and the community both nationally and internationally.


University of Otago affiliates

New Zealand affiliates

  • Professor Barry Barton. Director of the Centre for Environmental, Resources and Energy Law, Te Piringa Faculty of Law, University of Waikato.
  • Dr Julia Becker. Community Resilience Researcher, Social Science Team, Risk and Society, GNS Science
  • Emeritus Professor Gerry Carrington. Formerly Physics Department, University of Otago. Centre for Sustainability Advisory Board.
  • Professor Matt Henry. School of People, Environment and Planning, Massey University, Palmerston North.
  • Mr Rauru Kirikiri. RK Associates Limited, Wellington. Centre for Sustainability Advisory Board.
  • Professor David Johnston. Joint Centre for Disaster Research, School of Psychology, Massey University
  • Professor Richard Le Heron. School of Environment, University of Auckland.
  • Dr Selai Letica, Kairangahau Maori Research Priority Area Leader, Manaaki Whenua
  • Associate Professor Nick Lewis. Senior Lecturer, School of Environment, University of Auckland, Auckland.
  • Jon Manhire. Programme Leader, NZ Sustainability Dashboard Project. The AgriBusiness Group, Christchurch
  • Mr Geoff Mavromatis. Agribusiness Group, Christchurch. Centre for Sustainability Advisory Board
  • Emeritus Professor Henrik Moller. Principal Investigator and Company Director Ecosystems Consultants, Dunedin
  • Professor Eric Pawson. Department of Geography, University of Canterbury, Christchurch.
  • Professor Harvey Perkins. Director, Transforming Cities: Innovations for Sustainable Futures, University of Auckland.
  • Chris Perley. Thoughtscapes, Havelock North.
  • Dr David Rees. Founding Partner, Synergia Limited, Auckland.
  • Professor Mike Roche. School of People, Environment and Planning, Massey University, Palmerston North
  • Dr Chris Rosin. Senior lecturer, Faculty of Environment, Society and Design, Lincoln University.
  • Professor Khyla Russell. Formerly Otago Polytechnic. Centre for Sustainability Advisory Board.
  • Professor Paul Tapsell, Professor and Acting Director at University of Melbourne
  • Dr Neville Watson. University of Canterbury, Christchurch.
  • Dr Priscilla Wehi. Ecologist/Kaipütaiao, Landcare Research Manaaki Whenua, Dunedin.
  • Associate Professor Thomas Wilson. Disaster Risk and Resilience, Department of Geological Sciences, University of Canterbury.
  • Dr Alan Wood. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Canterbury, Christchurch.
  • Dr Ann Pomeroy, Research consultant (Geography), Wellington
  • Associate Professor Martin Hohmann-Marriott. PhotoSynLab, Department of Biotechnology & Food Sciences, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • ^ Top of page

International affiliates