Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Transport Research Network Research Theme

TRN_Identifier (625)

Transport Research Network Research Theme

Transport Research Network (TRN) is network of researchers from across the University of Otago as well as national and international collaborators. TRN has been active in supporting research activities (such as symposia and research seminars) and facilitating networking and research dissemination to stakeholders since 2016.

The theme PIs have strong transport research record in areas of active transport, road safety, licensing policy, road user behaviour and training, low carbon tourist transportation, transport, energy and sustainability transitions, and transport and Hauora Māori. Current University of Otago transport research strengths include several funded high profile research projects and programmes:

To sign up for TRN Research Theme Membership follow the link TRN Membership.

To contact the TRN administrator email

Transport Research Network’s vision is to become New Zealand’s leading interdisciplinary and cross-sector transport research network.

Specific goals of the Transport Research Network Research Theme include:
a) Establishing a strong national hub of cross-sectoral and interdisciplinary transport-related research;
b) Building transport research capacity and capability within the University of Otago;
c) Creating a hub that connects University of Otago researchers and transport sector practitioners; and
d) Becoming the key provider of research that informs evidence-based policy development in the transport sector.

Activities include growing transport research projects and research capacity at the University of Otago, a leadership role in connecting professionals from different sectors, contributing to evidence-based policy development and attracting high-profile transport researchers to Otago.

TRN Steering Group (280)Steering Group

  • Dr Vanessa Beanland, Department of Psychology (Director)
  • Dr Rebecca McLean, Department of Preventive and Social Medicine 
  • Dr Angela Curl, Department of Population Health
  • Dr James Berghan, School of Surveying
  • Mr Mohammad Luftur Rahman, School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences (Student member)
  • Mrs Kimberley King, Centre for Sustainability (Administrator)

Principal Investigators

Advisory Board Members

  • Sandy Fong,  Ministry of Transport, Wellington
  • Andrew Jackson, Consulting Jackson Ltd., Wellington
  • Professor Simon Kingham, University of Canterbury, Christchurch
  • Cr Alexa Forbes, Otago Regional Council, Dunedin

Associate Investigators

Current New Zealand Collaborators

  • Associate Professor Melody Smith, The University of Auckland, Auckland
  • Professor Erica Hinckson, Auckland University of Technology, Auckland
  • Professor Ben Wooliscroft, Auckland University of Technology
  • Adjunct Professor Sandy Mandic, Auckland University of Technology

Current International Collaborators

  • Professor Jennifer Mindell, UCL (University College London), United Kingdom
  • Associate Professor Debbie Hopkins, Transport Studies Unit, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Associate Professor, Palma Chillón, University of Granada, Spain
  • Professor Scott Cohen, University of Surrey, United Kingdom
  • Dr Paul Peters, Breda Centre for Sustainability, Tourism and Transport, The Netherlands
  • Dr Ya-Yen Sun, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Professor Stefen Gössling, Lund University, Sweden

Current Research Students

  •  Mr Mohammad Luftur Rahman, PhD student, University of Otago, Dunedin
  • Alastair Cumming, MSc student, University of Otago, Dunedin
  • Sienna MacArthur-Beadle, MSc student, University of Otago, Dunedin


Upcoming Events

Public events are advertised on the  TRN Facebook page and via our emails to members. Follow us or join TRN to keep up to date.