Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology is based at Christchurch Women’s Hospital, adjacent to Christchurch Public Hospital and the University of Otago, Christchurch.

Current tenured staff and their special interests include:

The Department Administrator is Françoise Hurt.

There are 12 Clinical Senior Lecturers on the Department’s teaching staff, who come from the hospital and private sectors.

A number of research staff and students work within the Department through a variety of funding and collaborative arrangements.


The Department has a number of established research projects in progress, funded from a variety of sources.

The main themes are Maternal and Fetal Medicine, Gynaecological Cancer, Endocrine regulation of reproduction, and Reproductive steroids in cardiovascular disease.

Professor John Evans is a full-time research scientist enabling research collaboration between clinical and laboratory science within the specialty.


The University provides teaching for medical students in their 5th and 6th years of training, and also runs the combined Otago University Diploma of Obstetrics & Medical Gynaecology and the Certificate in Women’s Health.  The 2 residential courses for the Diploma are based within the Department.

The Department also contributes strongly to the vocational training in Obstetrics and Gynaecology at Christchurch Women’s Hospital.

Postgraduate Programmes in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology

All enquiries regarding the Postgraduate Programme Residential Papers should be directed to:

Kate Murfin
Administrative Assistant
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Department
Christchurch Women's Hospital
Private Bag 4711
Christchurch 8140

Physical Address:
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Department
University of Otago
Christchurch Women's Hospital
Level 3
2 Riccarton Avenue
Christchurch 8011

Tel: 0064 3 378 6244

Clinical Service

All clinical staff within the Department are contracted to provide clinical services to Canterbury District Health Board (CDHB). Christchurch Women’s Hospital is administered by the Women’s Health Division of CDHB.

Christchurch Women’s Hospital is a modern women’s hospital with over 6,000 deliveries per year. Gynaecological Services provides inpatient, day patient and outpatient treatment for women in the Canterbury region and tertiary services for the South Island.

It is a tertiary referral centre for Maternal and Fetal Medicine, Gynaecological Oncology, and Neonatal Paediatrics.

The catchment area for secondary women’s health is approximately 400,000, covering North and Central Canterbury.

For tertiary services, the catchment area is larger, encompassing the whole of the South Island.