Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Advanced Training with the Christchurch Psychiatric Registrar Training Programme

Advanced Training within the RANZCP is ‘Generalist’ by default and results in all trainees attaining Fellowship after successfully completing two years. 

Post-Exam Registrars and Fellows may also work towards sub-specialty Certificates of Advanced Training in the following areas, all of which are available in Christchurch.

Addictions Psychiatry

Local contact: Professor Doug Sellman (doug.sellman@otago.ac.nz)
National Director of Training: Dr Tom Flewett

Adult Psychiatry

Local contact: Dr Alan Faulkner (alan.faulkner@cdhb.health.nz)
National Director of Training: Dr Felicity Plunkett

Child & Adolescent Psychiatry

Local Co-ordinator and National Co-Director of Training: Dr Julie Fitzjohn (julie.fitzjohn@cdhb.health.nz).
Advanced Training in Child & Adolescent Psychiatry

Consult-Liaison Psychiatry

Local contact: Professor Roger Mulder (roger.mulder@otago.ac.nz)
National Director of Training: Professor Roger Mulder

Forensic Psychiatry

Local contact: Dr Erik Monasterio (erik.monasterio@cdhb.health.nz)

National Director of Training:  Dr Krishna Pillai

Psychiatry of Old Age

Local Co-ordinator: Dr Jo Reeves (jo.reeves@cdhb.health.nz)
National Director of Training: Dr Stephen Boyd (Auckland)

Psychotherapy

Local Co-ordinator: Assoc Prof Sue Luty (sue.luty@otago.ac.nz)
National Director of Training: Dr Kate Wood

Sub Specialty Programmes

Two of the subspecialty training programmes available in Christchurch have been running continuously for several years and also train people from out of town.

Christchurch Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Training Programme

The Christchurch Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Training Programme was established in 1993 and trains both local and regional Senior Registrars and Fellows toward the achievement of the Certificate of Advanced Training in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. 

Close links exist with the other half of the New Zealand Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Training Programme which is based in Auckland. 

To date 12 graduates have completed child and adolescent psychiatry training in Christchurch.  Three trainees are currently enrolled in the programme.

Advanced Training in Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Training

Christchurch Psychiatry of Old Age Training Programme

The Christchurch Psychiatry of Old Age Training Programme trains both local and regional Fellows and Senior Registrars toward the achievement of their Certificate of Advanced Training. 

So far 4 trainees have completed this sub-specialty and there are 5 trainees currently enrolled.

Advanced Training Goals and Objectives in Christchurch


Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists psychiatry training in Christchurch, New Zealand