Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Canterbury Medical Library Training Sessions 2018

Overview

All sessions are held in the Training Room in Canterbury Medical Library. This is on the 6th floor of the University of Otago, Christchurch (UOC) building.

^ Top of page

Session schedule and content

Other sessions for individuals or groups can be arranged, as can training on other library resources.

NOTE: Dates and times may change at short notice.

Session title 2018 Date and time
* may change at short notice.
Session content
Demystifying the OVID Databases Monday 22& January,
2.30 – 4.00pm
  • Developing a search strategy
  • Making the most of subject headings
  • Using the tree or thesaurus
  • Benefits of textword searching
  • Truncation and wildcards
  • Or vs AND
  • Useful limits
  • Finding the articles
  • Emailing or saving your favourite references and articles
  • Saving your search
Thursday 5 April,
10.30am – 12.00pm
Thursday 9 August,
10.00 – 11.30am
Wednesday 14 November,
2.30 – 4.00pm
Cracking CINAHL Monday 19 March,
2.30 – 4.00pm
  • Developing a search strategy
  • Making the most of the subject headings, including CINAHL headings
  • The benefits of text searching
  • Truncation
  • OR vs AND
  • Useful limits
  • Finding the articles
  • Emailing or saving your favourite references and articles
  • Saving your search
Tuesday 17 July,
10.00 – 11.30am
Thursday 4 October,
10.30am – 12.00pm
Unravelling EndNote (Basic) Tuesday 13 February,
9.30 – 11.00am
EndNote: basic session
  • What is EndNote?
  • Creating an EndNote Library
  • Adding references to your Endnote Library
  • Housekeeping
  • Adding and storing PDFs to your references
  • Backing up your library
  • Using EndNote with Word to create beautiful bibliographies
Tuesday 20 February,
9.30 – 11.00am
Thursday 24 May,
3.00 – 4.30pm
Thursday 31 May,
3.00 – 4.30pm
Monday 10 September,
2.30 – 4.00pm
Monday 17 September,
2.30 – 4.00pm
Wednesday 24 October,
10.30am – 12.00pm
Wednesday 31 October,
10.30am – 12.00 noon
Slick Searching: Navigating the Catalogue and Ejournals Friday 2 March,
9.30 – 10.30am
  • Linking to ejournal articles from various databases
  • Using the ejournal list to get to online articles
  • Using the catalogue to find print journals and ejournals
  • Requesting material from the catalogue
Wednesday 20 June,
3.30 – 4.30pm
Friday 23 November,
10.00 – 11.00am

^ Top of page

How to book

Email librarycml.uoc@otago.ac.nz to reserve a spot. Or, just turn up on the day (we usually have spare seats).

Email librarycml.uoc@otago.ac.nz to arrange an individual or custom session. 

^ Top of page

Burwood or Princess Margaret Hospital based staff

Contact Debra Morgan to discuss your training:

Tel +64 3 377 7698 (ext 99940 or 66698)
Email debra.morgan@cdhb.health.nz

^ Top of page