Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our People

Head of Programme

Sean McConnellSean McConnell thumbnail new

BA (Hons) (Otago), MPhil, PhD (Cantab), Senior Lecturer
Greek and Roman philosophy
Email sean.mcconnell@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 8659


Academic Staff

Arlene Allan thumbnailArlene Allan (On RSL semester 2, 2019)

Undergraduate Academic Subject Adviser
BA (Trent), MA (Queen's), PhD (Exeter), Senior Lecturer
Greek literature; Greek religion and ritual; gender studies
Email arlene.allan@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 5237

Jon Hall new thumbnailJon Hall 

MA (St And) PhD (Texas), Professor
Cicero and Roman society
Email jon.hall@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 8714

Gwynaeth McIntyrGwynaeth_New_Crope

BA (Victoria, Canada), MA (York University, Canada), PhD (St Andrews), Senior Lecturer
Greek and Roman mythology and religion; Roman political history
Email gwynaeth.mcintyre@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 8710

Dan Osland thumbnailDaniel Osland

Honours Coordinator
BA (Wheaton), MA, PhD (Cinti), Senior Lecturer
Roman Spain
Email dan.osland@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 8711

Pat Wheatley thumbnailPat Wheatley

Postgraduate Coordinator
BA (Hons), PhD (UWA), Associate Professor
The Age of Alexander
Email pat.wheatley@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 4042


Affiliated Staff

John A. BarsbyJohn Barsby new thumbnail

MA (Cantab) Cert Ed (Bristol), LittD (Otago), Emeritus Professor
New comedy, especially Plautus and Terence
Email john.barsby@otago.ac.nz

William J. DominikWilliam Dominik thumbnail

BA (Pacific), MA (Texas Tech), PhD (Monash), Tchg Cred (Calif), Cert IES (Durham), Emeritus Professor
Roman literature and rhetoric; the Classical tradition/reception; lexicography
Email william.dominik@otago.ac.nz

John GarthwaiteJohn Garthwaite thumbnail

BA (Leic), MA, PhD (Cornell), Occasional Lecturer
Roman satire; mythology
Email john.garthwaite@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 8715

Liz Hale

Hale - thumbnailBA (Otago), MA (Brandeis), PhD (Brandeis), Honorary Senior Lecturer
Email ehale@une.edu.au