Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people

Head of Programme

Gwynaeth McIntyreGwynaeth McIntyre 2021 image

BA (Victoria, Canada), MA (York University, Canada), PhD (St Andrews), Senior Lecturer
Greek and Roman mythology and religion; Roman political history
Email gwynaeth.mcintyre@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 8710


Academic staff

Arlene Allan thumbnailArlene Allan

BA (Trent), MA (Queen's), PhD (Exeter), Senior Lecturer
Greek literature; Greek religion and ritual; gender studies
Email arlene.allan@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 5237

Sean McConnell image 2xSean McConnell

Honours Co-ordinator
Postgraduate Co-ordinator

BA (Hons) (Otago), MPhil, PhD (Cantab), Associate Professor
Greek and Roman philosophy
Email sean.mcconnell@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 8659

Daniel Osland 2021 imageDaniel Osland

Undergraduate Academic Subject Adviser
BA (Wheaton), MA, PhD (Cinti), Senior Lecturer

Roman Spain
Email dan.osland@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 8711

Pat Wheatley thumbnailPat Wheatley

BA (Hons), PhD (UWA), Associate Professor
The Age of Alexander
Email pat.wheatley@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 4042


Affiliated staff

John A. BarsbyJohn Barsby new thumbnail

MA (Cantab) Cert Ed (Bristol), LittD (Otago), Emeritus Professor
New comedy, especially Plautus and Terence
Email john.barsby@otago.ac.nz

William J. DominikWilliam Dominik thumbnail

BA (Pacific), MA (Texas Tech), PhD (Monash), Tchg Cred (Calif), Cert IES (Durham), Emeritus Professor
Roman literature and rhetoric; the Classical tradition/reception; lexicography
Email william.dominik@otago.ac.nz

John GarthwaiteJohn Garthwaite thumbnail

BA (Leic), MA, PhD (Cornell), Occasional Lecturer
Roman satire; mythology
Email john.garthwaite@otago.ac.nz

Hale - thumbnailLiz Hale

BA (Otago), MA (Brandeis), PhD (Brandeis), Honorary Senior Lecturer
Email ehale@une.edu.au

Jon Hall 2022 image @2xJon Hall 

MA (St And) PhD (Texas), Emeritus Professor
Cicero and Roman society
Email jon.hall@otago.ac.nz