Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Vaccinations

Information on the COVID‑19 vaccination rollout

Everyone in New Zealand over the age of 12 is eligible for the COVID‑19 vaccination from Wednesday 1 September. This includes people living in New Zealand who are not residents or citizens.

You can book your COVID‑19 vaccine now by visiting the Ministry of Health’s website – https://bookmyvaccine.covid19.health.nz/  or free phoning 0800 28 29 26

Dunedin campus vaccination clinics

Health and Safety are operating a vaccination clinic on-site at the Dunedin campus. Anyone wanting to book vaccinations on campus should:

The vaccination clinic is in Smithell’s Gymnasium until Friday 3 September, at 690 Cumberland Street.

From Tuesday 7 September, the clinics will be held on the ground floor of the Faculty of Dentistry’s Walsh Building, on Great King Street.

Vaccine side effects and reactions

Some people have reported feeling adverse side effects and reactions after receiving the COVID‑19 vaccination. A list of these adverse side effects and reactions is available on the Ministry of Health website.

Vaccine side effects and reactions

^ Top of page

Health Sciences students

Students in a health programme who are currently or will potentially be in contact with patients, are in group 2 for the vaccine rollout and are eligible to receive a COVID‑19 vaccination now.

We strongly encourage you to receive a COVID‑19 vaccination. Healthcare professionals have an obligation to protect patients and the COVID‑19 vaccination will keep you, your fellow students and health colleagues, and your patients or clients safe.

It’s important that students in group 2 record both of their vaccinations in SONIA, the student placement system. Instructions on how to do this are below.

If you are unable or decline to be vaccinated at this time, we also need to keep a record of this so please inform the contact person in your Department (see list below). Please be aware that not being vaccinated may affect where you are able to be placed and what contact you can have with patients and clients.

How to record your vaccinations

Once you have had your first vaccination shot for COVID‑19, you need to enter that information into the SONIA student placement system. You need to record both your vaccination shots in this system.

If you decline to be vaccinated at this time or you are unable to be vaccinated for medical reasons, you must notify the contact person in your Department (see list below). You do not need to record this in SONIA.

Instructions for recording in SONIA

COVID check screenshot

After receiving the first vaccination you will be provided with a Vaccine Record Card as shown on the right. This will be updated at the second vaccination.

After each vaccination: please log into SONIA and enter the ‘date given’ and upload a photo of the completed Vaccine Record Card. For the first vaccination you will also need to enter the ‘Second appointment date’.

  1. Go to placements.otago.ac.nz (we recommend using a phone browser so you can upload your vaccination card directly by taking a photo)
  2. Click on the icon for your school
  3. Log in as a student using your University username and password
  4. Select the ‘Forms’ tab
  5. Locate the 2021 COVID‑19 Vaccination Record and click ‘Edit’
  6. Submit the details of either Vaccination 1 or Vaccination 2

Screenshot of forms and edit buttons on placements window

SONIA student placement system portal

If you are unable to or choose not to be vaccinated

If you are unable or decline to be vaccinated at this time, we need to record this information – please inform the contact person in your Department (see list below). Please be aware that not being vaccinated may affect where you are able to be placed and what contact you can have with patients and clients.

The list of Department contact persons to inform
Department / school / programme Contact Email
Clinical Psychology Dione Healey dione.healey@otago.ac.nz
Dentistry Lara Friedlander lara.friedlander@otago.ac.nz
Dunedin School of Medicine Penny Eames penelope.eames@otago.ac.nz
Human Nutrition Katherine Black katherine.black@otago.ac.nz
Kōhatu – Centre for Hauora Māori Zoë Bristowe zoe.bristowe@otago.ac.nz
Pharmacy Dan Wright dan.wright@otago.ac.nz
Physiotherapy Chris Higgs chris.higgs@otago.ac.nz
University of Otago, Christchurch Tania Huria tania.huria@otago.ac.nz
University of Otago, Wellington Mark Huthwaite mark.huthwaite@otago.ac.nz
Va’a o Tautai Fran Cockerell fran.cockerell@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Visit otago.ac.nz/covid19 for ongoing updates.