Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Research Committee

Terms of Reference

  • To submit recommendations to the Senate on matters relating to research in the University, including policies and strategies for fostering and advancing research, innovation, and the commercialization of research;
  • To allocate and monitor funds within the Senate-approved Research Committee schemes in order to provide strategic support for research within the University of Otago;
  • To advise the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), and the Senate, on the development of and subsequent revisions to the University of Otago's strategic research plan and the ongoing monitoring of any outcomes defined in the plan.

^ Top of page


Composition of Committee Member Expiry date
Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Professor Richard Blaikie Ex Officio
Division of Commerce
(Associate Dean Research)
Associate Professor Kirsten Robertson Ex Officio
Division of Health Sciences
(Associate Dean Research)
Professor Roslyn Kemp Ex Officio
Division of Humanities
(Associate Dean Research)
Professor Hugh Campbell Ex Officio
Division of Sciences
(Associate Dean Research)
Dr Ting Wang Ex Officio
Māori Staff
(Te Poutama Māori)
Professor Emma Wyeth Ex Officio
University of Otago - Wellington
(Associate Dean Research)
Dr Sara Filoche Ex Officio
University of Otago – Christchurch
(Associate Dean Research)
Professor Lisa Stamp Ex Officio
Director, Research and Enterprise Dr Martin Gagnon Ex Officio
Early Career staff
Dr Rosie Brown Ex Officio
Pacific Staff Caucus Associate Professor Rose Richards Ex Officio
Dean of Graduate Research School Professor David Baxter Ex Officio
(Social Sciences)
Associate Professor Tamlin Conner Dec 2023
In attendance
Committee Secretary, Research Committee
Key contact
Ruth Sharpe (Senior Administrator, Academic Committees and Services)
+64 3 479 6531

Dr John Milnes (Research Information Co-ordinator, Research and Enterprise)
+64 3 479 4517

Fiona Seaton (Research Committee Administrator)
+64 3 479 5967

^ Top of page

Meetings for 2022

  • 9 February
  • 9 March
  • 13 April
  • 11 May
  • 8 June
  • 13 July
  • 10 August
  • 21 September
  • 12 October
  • 9 November
  • 14 December
  • ^ Top of page

eResearch Advisory Group

The eResearch Advisory Group (ERA@Otago) is a sub-committee of the Research Committee. Its purpose is to support and promote eResearch across the University.