Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Capital Development Committee

Sun striking the Clocktower

Terms of Reference

  • To advise the Council on the physical design, development and maintenance of the university including campus landscaping elements;
  • To advise Council on planning issues relating to its campuses;
  • To advise the Council on the capital buildings programme of the university and the acquisition or disposal of any property;
  • To advise on capital expenditure priorities for capital development including Information Technology development;
  • To consider and recommend to Council on all capital expenditure proposals over $1.5million;
  • To receive progress reports of approved projects.


  • The Vice-Chancellor (Convenor)
  • The Chancellor
  • 3 members of the Council
  • 3 members of the Academic Staff (appointed after consultation with Pro-Vice-Chancellors)
  • The Chief Operating Officer

In attendance

  • The Chief Financial Officer
  • Head, Project Management Office;
  • The Director of Property Services;
  • The Director, Campus Development;
  • Registrar & Secretary to the Council (Secretary


Meeting Dates for 2020

Campus Planning and Design Sub-Committee

The Campus Planning and Design Sub-Committee is a sub-committee of the Capital Development Committee.


  • Vice-Chancellor (Convenor) or nominee

  • Chief Operating Officer

  • Director of Property Services

  • University Architect

  • Up to 3 members of the community (for their expertise)