Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Graduate Research Committee

The Graduate Research Committee is a sub-committee of the Board of Graduate Studies (BOGS), and has delegated decision-making powers for operational graduate research matters. It also provides advice to the Board of Graduate Studies on policy and regulations regarding graduate research.

Terms of Reference

  • To provide academic oversight of the graduate research degree programmes at the University of Otago. These programmes include Doctoral programmes and Master’s research thesis programmes (where the thesis is at least 90 points);
  • To make decisions on behalf of the Board of Graduate Studies relating to the admission and enrolment, progress, approved study and examinations, of candidates for thesis-based doctoral degrees, delegating as appropriate to the Dean of the Graduate Research School;
  • To consider the matters placed before it by the Dean, Graduate Research School  and the associate Deans Postgraduate (or equivalent), and provide academic advice and recommend appropriate actions for implementation through established procedures; and,
  • To review the policy and regulations for Doctoral and Master's study in the University in the light of the material placed before it and recommend any modifications to policy or regulations to the Board of Graduate Studies through the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Enterprise).

^ Top of page


Composition of the Committee Member Expiry Date (if applicable)
Dean, Graduate Research School (Convener) Professor David Baxter Ex-officio
Deputy Dean, Graduate Research School Associate Professor Diane Ruwhiu Ex-officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Enterprise) Professor Richard Blaikie Ex-officio
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee), Division of Commerce Associate Professor Lisa McNeill 31 December, 2022
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee), Division of Health Sciences Associate Professor Chrys Jaye 31 December, 2020
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee), Division of Humanities Associate Professor Wayne Stephenson 31 December, 2023
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee), Division of Sciences Associate Professor Nigel Lucas 31 December, 2023
Director (or nominee), International Ms Danielle Yamamoto Kerr 31 December, 2022
Head of Department (or nominee), Higher Education Development Centre Associate Professor Vijay Mallan Ex-officio
Manager, Postgraduate Scholarships, Prizes and Awards Mr Peter Boston Ex-officio
Manager, Graduate Research School Mr Andrew Lonie Ex-officio
Elected postgraduate representative on the OUSA Executive, or a current postgraduate student nominated by the OUSA Mr Ravneel Chand 31 December 2021
In attendance Member Expiry Date (if applicable)
Academic staff members representing Professional Doctorate programmes (DClinDent, DBA, EdD and DMA) Associate Professor Sunyoug Ma 31 December 2022
Dr Sarah Carr 31 December 2022
Dr Keryn Pratt 31 December 2022
Dr Jennifer Cattermole 31 December 2022
Committee Secretary Michelle Bennie
Group Leaders, Student Administration
Lead Administrator, Student Administration Ms Bronwen Stephens

^ Top of page

Meetings for 2022

Please find below the meeting dates and venues for the Graduate Research Committee in 2022.

  • Tuesday 22 February, Committee Room North
  • Tuesday 29 March, Committee Room North
  • Tuesday 26 April, Committee Room North
  • Tuesday 31 May, Committee Room North
  • Tuesday 28 June, Committee Room North
  • Tuesday 26 July, Committee Room North
  • Tuesday 30 August, Committee Room North
  • Tuesday 27 September, Committee Room North
  • Tuesday 25 October, Committee Room North
  • Tuesday 29 November, Centre for Innovation, Seminar Room

These meetings will commence at 2pm.