Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Scholarships and Prizes Committee

Sun striking the Clocktower

The Scholarships and Prizes Committee is a sub-committee of Senate, with oversight of University scholarships and Prizes.

Terms of Reference

  • To provide leadership and strategic advice on matters related to scholarships and prizes;
  • To submit such recommendations as it deems necessary to the Senate on policy and rules relating to the award of scholarships and prizes in the University, including proposals for new or amended scholarships and prizes;
  • To approve the award of University scholarships and prizes as delegated;
  • To recommend the award of other such scholarships and prizes as may be entrusted to it;
  • To provide oversight of the scholarship and prize programmes at the University of Otago, including monitoring of the allocation of funds;
  • To monitor candidates awarded University of Otago scholarships and grant approvals or make other decisions as are permitted by the regulations for such scholarships;
  • To select candidates for nomination for national external scholarships;
  • To report an annual list of scholarships and prizes to Senate;
  • To delegate its functions as appropriate.


Name Role Extn. Email
Professor Richard Blaikie (Convenor) DVC (Research and Enterprise) 8513
Professor Pat Cragg Acting DVC (Academic) 8883
Professor Tony Ballantyne DVC (External Engagement) 5295
Professor Robin Gauld PVC, Division of Commerce and Dean Otago Business School 8632
Professor  Paul Brunton PVC, Division of Health Sciences 7413
Professor Jessica Palmer PVC, Division of Humanities 8672
Professor Richard Barker PVC, Division of Sciences 7756

In Attendance

Professor Rachel Spronken-Smith Dean, Graduate Research School 5655
Ben Rickerby Manager, Undergraduate Entrance Scholarships,
Division of External Engagement
Peter Boston Manager Postgraduate Scholarships, Prizes and Awards
Graduate Research School

The University of Otago's representative on the Universities New Zealand Scholarships Committee is Professor Rachel Spronken-Smith.

Meeting Dates

The Scholarships Committee normally meets three times per year, as required.