Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Equity Advisory Committee

Sun striking the Clocktower

Overview


The Vice-Chancellor established the Equity Advisory Committee in late 2013 to develop an over-arching understanding of equity matters arising within the University community, identify associated issues and opportunities, and report on these to the Vice Chancellor’s Advisory Group.

Terms of Reference


• To act as an approved conduit for receiving and reviewing information and initiating next appropriate steps. The purpose of this would be threefold:

  • to propose/identify pathways for interested groups, staff and students to raise matters pertaining to equity to the highest levels of the institution without constraint or fear of reprisal; 
  • for University management to refer equity related audit findings or questions of concern that require further information gathering;
  • to support compliance with legislative obligations.

• To raise awareness across the University, form communication channels and document existing equity groups.

• To report annually to the Vice-Chancellor’s Advisory Group. Report to document matters brought to the attention of the equity committee, referral actions/response; trend analysis to be developed if themes present regularly.

• To meet a minimum of three times per year for a two year period. At the end of the two year period a review to be undertaken to ascertain the number and type of enquiries received and to produce a discussion document for VCAG regarding value and possible structure for an equity committee moving forward.

 

Membership

  • Convener
  • Division of Commerce representative (nominee of PVC Commerce)
  • Division of Health Sciences representative (nominee of PVC Health Sciences)
  • Division of Humanities representative (nominee of PVC Humanities)
  • Division of Sciences representative (nominee of PVC Sciences)
  • Human Resources representative (nominee of HR Director)
  • Up to 3 nominees of the Vice-Chancellor and/or Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and International)
  • 1 nominee from the Maori community nominated by the Vice Chancellor and/or Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Representatives co-opted by the Committee to address specific equity issues

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held approximately four times a year.

Current Membership

Name Department Email
Professor Christina Hulbe  (Chair) School of Surveying christina.hulbe@otago.ac.nz
Professor Maree Thyne Marketing maree.thyne@otago.ac.nz
Professor Rachel Zajac Psychology rachel.zajac@otago.ac.nz
Dr Maria Hook Faculty of Law maria.hook@otago.ac.nz
Denise Lindsay Human Resources denise.lindsay@otago.ac.nz
Professor Vivienne Anderson College of Education vivienne.anderson@otago.ac.nz
Jo Gibson Student Experience jo.gibson@otago.ac.nz
Zoe Bristowe Māori Health Workforce Development Unit zoe.bristowe@otago.ac.nz
Joe Llewellyn (Secretary) Human Resources joe.llewellyn@otago.ac.nz
OUSA Welfare Officer