Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Equity Advisory Committee

Sun striking the Clocktower


The Vice-Chancellor established the Equity Advisory Committee in late 2013 to develop an over-arching understanding of equity matters arising within the University community, identify associated issues and opportunities, and report on these to the Vice Chancellor’s Advisory Group.

Terms of Reference

• To act as an approved conduit for receiving and reviewing information and initiating next appropriate steps. The purpose of this would be threefold:

  • to propose/identify pathways for interested groups, staff and students to raise matters pertaining to equity to the highest levels of the institution without constraint or fear of reprisal; 
  • for University management to refer equity related audit findings or questions of concern that require further information gathering;
  • to support compliance with legislative obligations.

• To raise awareness across the University, form communication channels and document existing equity groups.

• To report annually to the Vice-Chancellor’s Advisory Group. Report to document matters brought to the attention of the equity committee, referral actions/response; trend analysis to be developed if themes present regularly.

• To meet a minimum of three times per year for a two year period. At the end of the two year period a review to be undertaken to ascertain the number and type of enquiries received and to produce a discussion document for VCAG regarding value and possible structure for an equity committee moving forward.



  • Convener
  • Division of Commerce representative (nominee of PVC Commerce)
  • Division of Health Sciences representative (nominee of PVC Health Sciences)
  • Division of Humanities representative (nominee of PVC Humanities)
  • Division of Sciences representative (nominee of PVC Sciences)
  • Human Resources representative (nominee of HR Director)
  • Up to 3 nominees of the Vice-Chancellor and/or Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and International)
  • 1 nominee from the Maori community nominated by the Vice Chancellor and/or Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Representatives co-opted by the Committee to address specific equity issues

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held approximately four times a year.

Current Membership

Professor Christina Hulbe  (Chair)School of
Professor Rachel Spronken-SmithGraduate Research
Dr David GeraghtyPlanning &
Associate Professor Maree
Professor Ruth FitzgeraldAnthropology and
Ms Margaret MorganQuality Advancement
Professor Michelle
Professor Louise SignalPublic Health,
Associate Professor Rachel
Ms Denise LindsayHuman
Dr Stephen ScottAcademic
Dr Tasileta TeevalePacific
Abigail ClarkOUSA Welfare
Ms Julie Dlaskova (Secretary)Human