Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Staffing Advisory Committee

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) chairs the Staffing Advisory Committee which comprises senior academic representation from across the University. The Staffing Advisory Committee meets most months from February to December to advise the Vice-Chancellor on staffing matters and to make decisions on those matters for which it has delegated authority.

Terms of Reference

To decide, on behalf of the Vice-Chancellor, on matters relating to academic and general staff, including

  • Appointment of Associate Professors
  • Awarding of titles such as Adjunct, Honorary and Visiting;
  • Confirmation of appointment
  • Leave – including leave without pay
  • Academic promotions at Associate Professorial level and applications referred to it by the Divisional Promotion Committees
  • Policy – including academic promotions and the Senior Lecturer performance and salary review policy.

To advise the Vice-Chancellor on matters relating to academic and general staff, including:

  • Appointments
  • Awarding of titles such as Adjunct, Honorary and Visiting at the Professorial level
  • Policy – including Research and Study Leave, confirmation of appointment, awarding of titles such as Adjunct, Honorary and Visiting
  • Academic promotions at the Professorial level.

To maintain an overview and receive statistical information on matters relating to:

  • Annual Research and Study Leave Report
  • William Evans Visiting Fellowships
  • Academic promotions.


  • The Vice-Chancellor (ex officio member)
  • The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) (Chair)
  • The Vice-Chancellor will consult with Pro-Vice-Chancellors as required regarding one representative from each of the Academic Divisions
  • One member of the academic staff from either the University of Otago, Wellington or the University of Otago, Christchurch
  • The Associate Dean Māori, Office of Māori Development

Term of membership

A minimum term of 3 years.

Terms of Reference last updated: December 2014

Current membership

  • Professor David Murdoch (Vice-Chancellor)
  • Professor Helen Nicholson (Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic)
  • Professor Takashi Shogimen (Division of Humanities)
  • Professor Sally Brooker (Division of Sciences)
  • Professor Rebecca Grainger (University of Otago, Wellington)
  • Professor Holger Regenbrecht (Division of Commerce)
  • Professor Darryl Tong (Division of Health Sciences)
  • Associate Professor Anaru Eketone (Associate Dean Māori, Office of Māori Development)

In attendance:

  • Denise Lindsay, Manager, Recruitment & Professional Development
  • Tuari Potiki, Director, Office of Māori Development
  • Dan Wilson, Manager, HR Promotions and Remuneration

Secretary: Stephanie Evans, HR Adviser, HR Promotions and Remuneration
Tel +64 3 479 8255

Meeting dates and agenda deadlines

Agenda closes Committee meets
16 January 2023 Wednesday 25 January 2023
13 February 2023 Wednesday 22 February 2023
13 March 2023 Wednesday 29 March 2023
17 April 2023 Wednesday 26 April 2023
22 May 2023 Wednesday 31 May 2023
19 June 2023 Wednesday 28 June 2023
17 July 2023 Wednesday and Thursday 9 and 10 August 2023
18 September 2023 Wednesday 27 September 2023
16 October 2023 Wednesday 25 October 2023
20 November 2023 Wednesday 29 November 2023