Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Key dates 2020

Week Date Event
4 Monday 20 January All Doctor of Clinical Dentistry, MDentTech, MDS and MComDent students commence unless otherwise notified
6 Wednesday 5 February Teaching Excellence Day
Thursday 6 February Waitangi Day
7 Monday 10 February
PGDipCDTech Part-time students’ block course: 10–21 February
8 Monday 17 February

Mihiwhakatau for all new BOH1, DTEC1, BDS2 students.
Students are required to attend the week-long pre-arranged orientation programme

Monday 17 February

Start of the academic year for:

  • BDS 3 ,4 ,5
  • BOH 2, 3
  • DET 2, 3, 4
All Postgraduate Diploma students commence
Friday 21 February

Programmes specific introduction session from 10am

  • BDS 2 - Gowland Lecture Theatre
  • BOH 1 - Hunter Centre 30A & B
  • DTEC 1 - Hunter Centre 112 & 113
9 Tuesday 25 February

PGDipCDTech full-time students

15 Friday 10 April Good Friday, start of mid-semester break
16 Monday 13 April Easter Monday
Tuesday 14 April University observance of Otago Anniversary Day
17 Monday 20 April Classes resume for all students
18 Monday 27 April Anzac Day observed
22 Friday 29 May

Lectures, clinics and labs cease for:

  • Y2 Dental and Y1 Dental Technology
  • Y1 and Y2 Oral Health students
23 Monday 1 June Queen’s Birthday Holiday
3–17 June Semester 1 Exam Period
Friday 5 June

Lectures, clinics and labs cease for:

  • Y3, Y4 and Y5 Dental
  • Y2 and Y3 Dental Technology
  • Y3 Oral Health students
26-27 22 June to 3 July PGDipCDTech Part-time students’ block course
28 Monday 6 July Semester 2: Classes resume for all students
Wednesday 8 July Clinical Excellence Day
34 Friday 21 August NZDA Employment Fair (BDSS)
DTEC Day
35 Monday 24 August Mid-semester break for all students 24 August to 28 August
36 Monday 31 August Classes resume for all students
37 Thursday 10 September Research Day
41 Friday 9 October

Lectures cease for:

  • Y2 Dental
  • Y1 and Y2 Oral Health students
42 14 October to 7 November Semester 2/Final Exam Period
43 Friday 23 October

Lectures cease for:

  • Y3, Y4 and Y5 Dental students
  • All Dental Technology students
  • Y3 Oral Health students
  • PgDipCDTech full-time students finish
44 Monday 26 October Labour Day
45 Wednesday 4 and Thursday 5 November BDS5 elective colloquium
50 Friday 11 December

Year ends for DClinDent students