Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Postgraduate research opportunities at the Department of Medicine

Overview

The Department of Medicine is one of the Dunedin School of Medicine's largest academic departments. We have numerous and varied postgraduate research opportunities available throughout the Department.

Applicants for postgraduate study in the Department of Medicine do not need to be medical graduates; we encourage both medical and non-medical graduates to undertake PhD or master's study. The department has both medical and non-medical academic staff, who may supervise projects carried out by graduates from fields other than medicine. Various projects are often available for consideration.

Research projects

Some projects are available in the following broad categories

  • Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
  • Physical, brain and social changes in ageing
  • Inflammation research in arthritis and cancer
  • Kidney diseases / nephrology
  • Quality of life in dialysis patients
  • Multiple medication-related projects

^ Top of Page

Research areas and supervisor specialties

Cardiology

Professor Michael Williams
Email michael.williams@otago.ac.nz

Professor Gillian Whalley
Email gillian.whalley@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sean Coffey
Email sean.coffey@otago.ac.nz

Clinical Exercise Physiology

Dr Chris Baldi
Email chris.baldi@otago.ac.nz

Edgar Diabetes and Obesity Research (EDOR)

Professor Rachael Taylor
Email:rachael.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jim Mann
Email jim.mann@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kirsten Coppell
Email kirsten.coppell@otago.ac.nz

Emergency Medicine

Dr Sierra Beck
Email sierra.beck@otago.ac.nz

Endocrinology

Professor Patrick Manning
Email patrick.manning@southerndhb.govt.nz

Gerontology

Associate Professor Debra Waters
Email debra.waters@otago.ac.nz

Gut Health (Gastroenterology)

Associate Professor Michael Schultz
Email michael.schultz@otago.ac.nz

Kidney in Health and Disease

Professor Rob Walker
Email rob.walker@otago.ac.nz

Leukocyte and Inflammation

Dr Paul Hessian
Email paul.hessian@otago.ac.nz

Neurology

Associate Professor Graeme Hammond-Tooke
Email graeme.hammond-tooke@otago.ac.nz

Dr Nick Cutfield
Email nick.cutfield@southerndhb.govt.nz

Oncology

Dr Chris Jackson
Email chris.jackson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Dr Sharon Pattison
Email sharon.pattison@otago.ac.nz

Ophthalmology

Dr Kelechi Ogbuehi
Email kelechi.ogbuehi@otago.ac.n

Dr Logan Mitchell
Email: logan.mitchell@otago.ac.nz

Respiratory Diseases

Dr Ben Brockway
Email ben.brockway@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jack Dummer
Email jack.dummer@otago.ac.nz

Rheumatology

Associate Professor Simon Stebbings
Email simon.stebbings@otago.ac.nz

Sports and Exercise Medicine

Dr Hamish Osborne
Email hamish.osborne@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Further information

For further information, please contact:

Willemijn de Bruin
Research Administrator
Department of Medicine
Email medicine.research-administrator@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page