Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Department of Pathology Weekly Seminars


Associate Professor Merilyn HibmaMerilyn_Hibma

Department of Pathology, Dunedin School of Medicine

1pm Friday 8 November, D'ath Lecture Theatre, Hercus Building

Langerhans cell regulation in the skin microenvironment

Our laboratory is studying antigen presenting cell, including Langerhans cell, function in human papillomavirus (HPV) infection and in wound healing. Langerhans cells are skin-resident macrophages in the epidermis that functionally behave as dendritic cells. HPV type 16 is a skin-infecting virus, infecting the keratinocytes co-located with Langerhans cells. Importantly, HPV16 regulates Langerhans cells and dendritic cells, suppressing antigen presenting cell function. In vitro experiments show that HPV16 E7 expressing cells shed extracellular vesicles that suppress antigen presenting cell function. This immune evasion mechanism may contribute to persistent viral infection, which is associated with an increased likelihood of progression of infection to cancer. Surprisingly, depletion of antigen presenting cells from skin negatively regulates wound healing, delaying wound closure. Langerhans cells therefore are functionally regulated, and are also themselves key regulators in the skin.

^ Top of page

Upcoming seminars

All seminars, unless stated otherwise, are held at 1pm in the Hercus D’Ath Lecture Theatre, Department of Pathology, Hercus Building

^ Top of page

Previous seminars

  • Professor Eileen McLaughlin  University of Canberra, Australia
  • Professor Lynette Sadleir  Department of Paediatrics and Child Health, University of Otago Christchurch
  • Professor Helen Heslop  John Borrie Professorial Fellow, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas, USA
  • Dr Helen Petousis-Harris  Department of General Practice and Primary Health Care, University of Auckland
  • Associate Professor Tim Woodfield  Centre for Bioengineering & Nanomedicine, University of Otago Christchurch
  • Dr Jeong Park  School of Fundamental Sciences, Massey University
  • Professor Nancy Longnecker  Centre for Science Communication
  • Professor Christine Winterbourn  Department of Pathology and Biomedical Science, University of Otago (Christchurch)
  • Dr Ann Poduri  Boston Children’s Hospital / Harvard Medical School, USA
  • Dr Volker Blank  Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research / McGill University, Montreal, Canada
  • Dr Peter Mace  Department of Biochemistry
  • Dr Robert Weinkove  Malaghan Institute of Medical Research and Wellington Blood and Cancer Centre
  • Professor Adrian Harris  Colin Geary Visiting Professor, Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, Oxford, UK
  • Professor Andrew Jackson  University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Dr Caiyun Grace Li  Stanford University
  • Dr Anna Brooks  Auckland Cytometry, University of Auckland
  • Dr Rachel Purcell  Department of Surgery, University of Otago (Christchurch)
  • Dr Kelly Rogers  Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research (WEHI), Australia
  • Associate Professor Adam Patterson  Auckland Cancer Society Research Centre, University of Auckland
  • Dr Priyakshi Kalita-de Croft  University of Queensland Centre for Clinical Research
  • Dr Logan Walker  Department of Pathology and Biomedical Science, University of Otago (Christchurch)
  • Dr Heather Lee  Hunter Medical Research Institute, University of Newcastle
  • Dr Jo-Ann Stanton  Department of Anatomy
  • Dr Hong Zhu  College of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Zhejiang University
  • Dr Phillip Wilcox  Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Dr Anna Pilbrow  Christchurch Heart Institute
  • Dr Paul Gardner  Department of Biochemistry
  • Professor Franca Ronchese  Malaghan Institute of Medical Research, Wellington
  • Associate Professor Glen Reid  Asbestos Diseases Research Institute, University of Sydney
  • Dr Sarah Diermeier  Department of Biochemistry
  • Associate Professor Siouxsie Wiles  University of Auckland
  • Dr Ian Griffin  Director, Otago Museum
  • Professor Tony Merriman  Department of Biochemistry
  • Professor Neil Gemmell  Department of Anatomy
  • Professor Greg Cook  Department of Microbiology and Immunology
  • Professor Catherine Day Department of Biochemistry
  • Professor Roger Reddel  Colin Geary Visiting Professor, Director of Children's Medical Research Institute (CMRI), and the Sir Lorimer Dods Professor, Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney
  • Dr Chris Jackson  Medical Director, Cancer Society of New Zealand
  • Dr Peter Stockwell  Department of Biochemistry
  • Dr Chris Brown  Department of Biochemistry
  • Professor Vicky Cameron  Department of Medicine, University of Otago (Christchurch)
  • Professor Mark Hampton  Centre for Free Radical Research, University of Otago (Christchurch)

^ Top of page