Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

About us

The Department of Women’s and Children’s Health is one of seven academic departments that make up the Otago Medical School - Dunedin Campus. It was formed in 1999 by combining the previous Department of Paediatrics and Child Health with the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology.

We are committed to excellence in teaching and research in an environment that fosters personal development and respect, and stimulates advances in knowledge and the provision of outstanding health care of women, youth, children and their families / whānau.

The department is committed to:

  • Collaborating with the Southern District Health Board in maintaining and improving clinical standards
  • Excellence and integrity in research
  • Good working relationships, with co-operation and respect amongst staff
  • Keeping abreast of developments in knowledge and technology
  • Loyalty, honesty, accountability and openness in decision making
  • Meeting Treaty of Waitangi obligations
  • Personal and professional development
  • Passion and enthusiasm in the care of children and women
  • Quality and efficiency in all activities
  • Respecting difference (e.g. ethnicity, gender, ability, disability)
  • Student-centred teaching to promote critical thinking and independent lifelong learning

Associate Professor Mike Stitely is the current Head of Department (HOD), appointed in September 2017.

Associate Professor Ben Wheeler is the Head of the Paediatrics and Child Health Section.

Dr Helen Paterson is the Head of the Obstetrics and Gynaecology Section.