Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Structure of the Dunedin School of Medicine


The Otago Medical School, founded in 1875, is the oldest medical school in New Zealand.

The Otago Medical School consists of the School of Biomedical Sciences plus three clinical schools: University of Otago, Christchurch; University of Otago, Wellington; and the Dunedin School of Medicine.

At the Dunedin School of Medicine, our major teaching responsibility is the education of medical students throughout all six years of study. This includes teaching all University of Otago medical students in the Early Learning in Medicine (ELM) programme, and Dunedin-based students in years four, five, and six. We also have a wide range of postgraduate programmes.

Our thriving research community supports staff undertaking research of an international standard in health, biomedical sciences, and related disciplines.

How the Dunedin School of Medicine fits within the University of Otago

^ Top of Page

Departments of the Dunedin School of Medicine

The Dunedin School of Medicine has one administrative and seven academic departments, each of which undertake extensive teaching and research activities. Within the academic departments are a number of sections, and research groups and units.

List of all departments, sections, groups, and units of the Dunedin School of Medicine

Dunedin School of Medicine administration

Dunedin School of Medicine academic departments

Visual representation of the Dunedin School of Medicine structure (PDF 8 KB)

^ Top of Page