Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Undergraduate study

Tohu Paetahi – Te Kura Whaiora o Ōtepoti


Our major teaching responsibility is the education of medical students throughout all six years of study. The Department of Pathology also contributes to the teaching of medical laboratory science students.

The first step towards becoming a doctor or medical laboratory scientist is to enrol in the competitive Health Sciences First Year programme.

Health Sciences First Year

^ Top of Page


We offer the Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MB ChB) qualification to medical students, and the Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Science (BMLSc) qualification to medical laboratory science students.

Undergraduate qualifications offered at Otago Medical School’s Dunedin Campus

^ Top of Page

Student support

The Student Affairs Office and Kōhatu – Centre for Hauora Māori (Māori Health) are responsible for matters relating to medical students' personal, academic, and pastoral care.

Student Support at Otago Medical School’s Dunedin Campus
Kōhatu – Centre for Hauora Māori

^ Top of Page


Our prizeboards celebrate the achievements of our prize-winning students, who are recognised for their academic and clinical excellence.

Dunedin Campus prizeboards

^ Top of Page

Electives for final-year international students

In addition to co-ordinating electives for our own Dunedin-based students, we facilitate electives for final-year medical students from outside of New Zealand. Placements are offered at the Dunedin and Southland teaching hospitals.

Electives for final-year international students

^ Top of Page