Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in Food Science

Head of Department

Professor Indrawati Oey Head of Department

+64 3 479 8735
foodscience.hod@otago.ac.nz
indrawati.oey@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Administrative staff

Khazima Tahir Administrator, Food Science, Sciences
Administrator Client Services, Shared Services, Director's Office, Operations Services

+64 3 479 7562
foodscience.office@otago.ac.nz
khazima.tahir@otago.ac.nz

Shelley Linwood

Administrator, Food Science, Sciences
Administrator Client Services, Shared Services, Director's Office, Operations Services

+64 3 479 3149
foodscience.postgrad@otago.ac.nz
shelley.linwood@otago.ac.nz

Ian Ross Head Technician

+64 3 479 8708
foodscience.headtech@otago.ac.nz
ian.ross@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Academic staff

Dominic Agyei Lecturer

+64 3 479 7545
dominic.agyei@otago.ac.nz

Azam Ali

Associate Professor

+64 3 479 7456
azam.ali@otago.ac.nz

Aladin Bekhit Associate Professor

+64 3 479 4994
aladin.bekhit@otago.ac.nz

Phil Bremer

Professor
Postgraduate Coordinator

+64 3 479 5469
phil.bremer@otago.ac.nz

Graham Eyres Senior Lecturer

+64 3 479 7661
graham.eyres@otago.ac.nz

Biniam Kebede Lecturer

+64 3 479 7257
biniam.kebede@otago.ac.nz

Sze Ying Leong Assistant Research Fellow

+64 3 479 7565
sze.leong@otago.ac.nz

Miranda Mirosa Associate Professor and 4th year coordinator

+64 3 479 7953
miranda.mirosa@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Nyhof Professional Practice Fellow

+64 3 479 4193
fiona.nyhof@otago.ac.nz

Indrawati Oey Professor
Head of Department

+64 3 479 8735
indrawati.oey@otago.ac.nz

Mei Peng Senior Lecturer

+64 3 479 4052
mei.peng@otago.ac.nz

Peter Zhao Research assistant +64 3 479 7558
peter.zhao@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Product Development Research Centre (PDRC)

Pat Silcock

Manager PDRC

+64 3 479 7564
pat.silcock@otago.ac.nz

Nerida Downes Researcher

+64 3 479 7560
nerida.downes@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Nyhof Researcher

+64 3 479 4193
fiona.nyhof@otago.ac.nz

Stephanie Then Researcher

+64 3 479 7560
stephanie.then@otago.ac.nz

Roy Ma Assistant Research Fellow

+64 3 479 7560
roy.ma@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Support staff

Technical staff

Jo'ann Ayers

Technical Assistant,
Food Teaching Laboratories

+64 3 479 7544
jo-ann.ayers@otago.ac.nz

Sarah Johnson (previously Henry)

Senior Technician, Food Teaching Laboratories

+64 3 479 7544
sarah.henry@otago.ac.nz

Bill Ingram Workshop Technician

+64 3 479 5160
bill.ingram@otago.ac.nz

Michelle Leus

Scientific Officer,
Flavour and Analytical Chemist

+64 3 479 7565
michelle.leus@otago.ac.nz
Michelle Petrie Chemistry and Microbiology Technician

+64 3 479 7558
michelle.petrie@otago.ac.nz

Ian Ross Head Technician

+64 3 479 8708
ian.ross@otago.ac.nz

IT Support

Kunal Kamble IT Support foodscience.it@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Postgraduate students

Amali Alahakoon ext 9198 amali.alahakoon@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Mohammed Alsaif (470) 4778 mohammed.alsaif@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Amir Amini (470) 4778 amir.amini@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Mylene Anwar ext 7475 mylene.anwar@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Senni Bunga ext 7475 senni.bunga@otago.ac.nz
Keegan Burrow (470) 4778 keegan.burrow@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Jimmy Cahayadi ext 8457 jimmy.cahayadi@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Jonathan Chua ext 9198
Lei Cong ext 5753 lei.cong@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Sheba Mae Duque ext 7475 sheba.duque@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Justin Geng ext 5463 justin.geng@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Stephen Giteru ext 5753 stephen.giteru@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Ryan High ext 7628 higry363@student.otago.ac.nz
Rachel Ginieis ext 8258 rachel.ginieis@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Yakun Hou ext 5753 yakun.hou@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Mengxin (Mou) Huang mou.huang@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Nassim Jalil Mohzdehi ext 5463 nassim.jalilmozhdehi@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Prit (Ed) Khrisanapant ext 7628 prit.khrisanapant@postgrad.ac.nz
Dong Ju (Jenny) Kim (470) 4778 kimdo511@student.otago.ac.nz
Tingting (Lily) Liu ext 8258 lily.liu@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Yafei Liu yafei.liu@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Yang (Sunny) Liu sunny.liu@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Chia Chun (Marcus) Loi (470) 4778 marcus.loi@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Hajar Mohamad ext 9198 hajar.mohamad@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
TA Mungure (470) 4778 tanyaradzwa.mungure@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Rajkumar Nandakumar ext 5463 rajkumar.nandakumar@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
William Pickup ext 5463 picwi639@student.otago.ac.nz
Tobias Richter ext 9198 tobias.richter@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Abduh Setya ext 5753 setya.abduh@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Thirawat (TK) Tantamacharik ext 7475 tk.tantamacharik@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Andrea Warburton ext 8258 andrea.warburton@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Hongxia Zhang ext 9198 hongxia.zhang@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Yuanyang Zhang ext 8258 yuanyang.zhang@postgrad.otago.ac.nz

Past members of the Department of Food Science

  • Associate Professor John Birch