Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in Food Science

Head of Department

Professor Indrawati Oey Head of Department

+64 3 479 8735
foodscience.hod@otago.ac.nz
indrawati.oey@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Administrative staff

Khazima Tahir Administrator, Food Science, Sciences
Administrator Client Services, Shared Services, Director's Office, Operations Services

+64 3 479 7562
foodscience.office@otago.ac.nz
khazima.tahir@otago.ac.nz

Bronwyn Hughes Finance Associate +64 3 479 7561
bronwyn.hughes@otago.ac.nz
Shelley Linwood

Administrator, Food Science, Sciences
Administrator Client Services, Shared Services, Director's Office, Operations Services

+64 3 479 3149
foodscience.office@otago.ac.nz
shelley.linwood@otago.ac.nz

Leonie McGeady Lead Administrator Client Services, Food Science +64 21 279 0429
leonie.mcgeady@otago.ac.nz
Ian Ross Head Technician

+64 3 479 8708
foodscience.headtech@otago.ac.nz
ian.ross@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Academic staff

Dominic Agyei Senior Lecturer

+64 3 479 7545
dominic.agyei@otago.ac.nz

Aladin Bekhit Associate Professor

+64 3 479 4994
aladin.bekhit@otago.ac.nz

Phil Bremer

Professor
Postgraduate Coordinator

+64 3 479 5469
phil.bremer@otago.ac.nz

Graham Eyres Senior Lecturer

+64 3 479 7661
graham.eyres@otago.ac.nz

Biniam Kebede Senior Lecturer

+64 3 479 7257
biniam.kebede@otago.ac.nz

Sze Ying Leong Assistant Research Fellow

+64 3 479 7565
sze.leong@otago.ac.nz

Miranda Mirosa Associate Professor and 4th year coordinator

+64 3 479 7953
miranda.mirosa@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Nyhof Professional Practice Fellow

+64 3 479 4193
fiona.nyhof@otago.ac.nz

Indrawati Oey Professor
Head of Department

+64 3 479 8735
indrawati.oey@otago.ac.nz

Mei Peng Senior Lecturer

+64 3 479 4052
mei.peng@otago.ac.nz

Peter Zhao Research assistant +64 3 479 7558
peter.zhao@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Product Development Research Centre (PDRC)

Pat Silcock

Manager PDRC

+64 3 479 7564
pat.silcock@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Nyhof Researcher

+64 3 479 4193
fiona.nyhof@otago.ac.nz

Stephanie Then Researcher

+64 3 479 7560
stephanie.then@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Support staff

Technical staff

Sarah Johnson (previously Henry)

Senior Technician, Food Teaching Laboratories

+64 3 479 7544
sarah.henry@otago.ac.nz

Bill Ingram Workshop Technician

+64 3 479 5160
bill.ingram@otago.ac.nz

Michelle Leus

Scientific Officer,
Flavour and Analytical Chemist

+64 3 479 7565
michelle.leus@otago.ac.nz
Michelle Petrie Chemistry and Microbiology Technician

+64 3 479 7558
michelle.petrie@otago.ac.nz

Ian Ross Head Technician

+64 3 479 8708
ian.ross@otago.ac.nz

IT Support

Dean Johnstone IT Support foodscience.it@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Postgraduate students

Sashie Abeywickrema sashie.abeywickrema@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Parise Adadi parise.adadi@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Mirja Ahmmed mirja.ahmmed@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Mohammed Alsaif mohammed.alsaif@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Hannah Browne hannah.browne@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Siyu (Shirley) Chen siyu.chen@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Grace Clare grace.clare@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Ladie Conde ladieanne.conde@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Jess Fitzgerald jess.fitzgerald@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Ari Hayati hayar206@student.otago.ac.nz
Ryan High higry363@student.otago.ac.nz
Rachel Ginieis rachel.ginieis@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Neda Irvani neda.irvani@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Siripong Kanokruangrong siripong.kanokr@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Soundarya Karamcheti soundarya.karamcheti@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Roman Karki roman.karki@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Ruchita Rao Kavle kavru760@student.otago.ac.nz
Ruijun (Charlene) Li charlene.li@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Nassim Jalil Mohzdehi nassim.jalilmozhdehi@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Xingchen (Annie) Li lian6214@student.otago.ac.nz
Johannes Magpusao johannes.magpusao@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Jessica O'Connor jessica.oconnor@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Trong Phan trong.phan@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Victoria Purdy victoria.purdy@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Saratjedevi Rajendran sarathadevi.rajendran@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Rebecca Roberts rebecca.roberts@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Caleb Robinson caleb.robinson@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Joy Sim simjo010@student.otago.ac.nz
Yi-Ting Sung sunyi847@student.otago.ac.nz
Andrea Warburton andrea.warburton@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Chao (Rebecca) Yang rebecca.yang@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Erin Young erin.young@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Peter Zhao zhape806@student.otago.ac.nz
Stella Zhou zouyu502@student.otago.ac.nz
Yao Zhang zhaya499@student.otago.ac.nz

Past members of the Department of Food Science

  • Associate Professor John Birch