Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in Food Science

Head of Department

Professor Indrawati Oey Head of Department

+64 3 479 8735
foodscience.hod@otago.ac.nz
indrawati.oey@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Administrative staff

Khazima Tahir Administrator, Food Science, Sciences
Administrator Client Services, Shared Services, Director's Office, Operations Services

+64 3 479 7562
foodscience.office@otago.ac.nz
khazima.tahir@otago.ac.nz

Bronwyn Hughes Finance Associate +64 3 479 7561
bronwyn.hughes@otago.ac.nz
Shelley Linwood

Administrator, Food Science, Sciences
Administrator Client Services, Shared Services, Director's Office, Operations Services

+64 3 479 3149
foodscience.postgrad@otago.ac.nz
shelley.linwood@otago.ac.nz

Leonie McGeady Lead Administrator Client Services, Food Science +64 21 279 0429
leonie.mcgeady@otago.ac.nz
Ian Ross Head Technician

+64 3 479 8708
foodscience.headtech@otago.ac.nz
ian.ross@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Academic staff

Dominic Agyei Lecturer

+64 3 479 7545
dominic.agyei@otago.ac.nz

Azam Ali

Associate Professor

+64 3 479 7456
azam.ali@otago.ac.nz

Aladin Bekhit Associate Professor

+64 3 479 4994
aladin.bekhit@otago.ac.nz

Phil Bremer

Professor
Postgraduate Coordinator

+64 3 479 5469
phil.bremer@otago.ac.nz

Graham Eyres Senior Lecturer

+64 3 479 7661
graham.eyres@otago.ac.nz

Biniam Kebede Lecturer

+64 3 479 7257
biniam.kebede@otago.ac.nz

Sze Ying Leong Assistant Research Fellow

+64 3 479 7565
sze.leong@otago.ac.nz

Miranda Mirosa Associate Professor and 4th year coordinator

+64 3 479 7953
miranda.mirosa@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Nyhof Professional Practice Fellow

+64 3 479 4193
fiona.nyhof@otago.ac.nz

Indrawati Oey Professor
Head of Department

+64 3 479 8735
indrawati.oey@otago.ac.nz

Mei Peng Senior Lecturer

+64 3 479 4052
mei.peng@otago.ac.nz

Peter Zhao Research assistant +64 3 479 7558
peter.zhao@otago.ac.nz
Jaydee Cabral Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 3048
jaydee.cabral@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Product Development Research Centre (PDRC)

Pat Silcock

Manager PDRC

+64 3 479 7564
pat.silcock@otago.ac.nz

Nerida Downes Researcher

+64 3 479 7560
nerida.downes@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Nyhof Researcher

+64 3 479 4193
fiona.nyhof@otago.ac.nz

Stephanie Then Researcher

+64 3 479 7560
stephanie.then@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Support staff

Technical staff

Sarah Johnson (previously Henry)

Senior Technician, Food Teaching Laboratories

+64 3 479 7544
sarah.henry@otago.ac.nz

Bill Ingram Workshop Technician

+64 3 479 5160
bill.ingram@otago.ac.nz

Michelle Leus

Scientific Officer,
Flavour and Analytical Chemist

+64 3 479 7565
michelle.leus@otago.ac.nz
Michelle Petrie Chemistry and Microbiology Technician

+64 3 479 7558
michelle.petrie@otago.ac.nz

Ian Ross Head Technician

+64 3 479 8708
ian.ross@otago.ac.nz

IT Support

Dean Johnstone IT Support foodscience.it@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Postgraduate students

Sashie Abeywickrema sashie.abeywickrema@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Parise Adadi parise.adadi@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Mirja Ahmmed mirja.ahmmed@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Mohammed Alsaif (470) 4778 mohammed.alsaif@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Amir Amini (470) 4778 amir.amini@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Mylene Anwar ext 7475 mylene.anwar@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Mozammel Bhuiyan mozammel.bhuiyan@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Senni Bunga ext 7475 senni.bunga@otago.ac.nz
Siyu (Shirley) Chen siyu.chen@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Jonathan Chua ext 9198 jonathan.chua@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Ladie Conde ladieanne.conde@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Lei Cong ext 5753 lei.cong@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Xiaoxuan (Chrisina) Deng dench188@student.otago.ac.nz
Sheba Mae Duque ext 7475 sheba.duque@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Jess Fitzgerald jess.fitzgerald@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Henan Gao henan.gao@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Justin Geng ext 5463 justin.geng@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Stephen Giteru ext 5753 stephen.giteru@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Ryan High ext 7628 higry363@student.otago.ac.nz
Rachel Ginieis ext 8258 rachel.ginieis@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Yakun Hou ext 5753 yakun.hou@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Neda Irvani neda.irvani@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Nazmul Islam nazmul.islam@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Siripong Kanokruangrong siripong.kanokr@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Soundarya Karamcheti soundarya.karamcheti@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Roman Karki roman.karki@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Ashly Kumar ashly.kumar@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Ruijun (Charlene) Li charlene.li@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Evelyn Mete evelyn.mete@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Nassim Jalil Mohzdehi ext 5463 nassim.jalilmozhdehi@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Prit (Ed) Khrisanapant ext 7628 prit.khrisanapant@postgrad.ac.nz
Xingchen (Annie) Li lian6214@student.otago.ac.nz
Chia Chun (Marcus) Loi (470) 4778 marcus.loi@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Johannes Magpusao johannes.magpusao@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Hajar Mohamad ext 9198 hajar.mohamad@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
TA Mungure (470) 4778 tanyaradzwa.mungure@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Bhavini Patel patbh195@student.otago.ac.nz
Trong Phan trong.phan@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Victoria Purdy victoria.purdy@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Mina Rajabi rajmi145@student.otago.ac.nz
Caleb Robinson caleb.robinson@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Sonali Sali sonali.sali@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Abduh Setya ext 5753 setya.abduh@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Thirawat (TK) Tantamacharik ext 7475 tk.tantamacharik@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Ke Wang wanke683@student.otago.ac.nz
Andrea Warburton ext 8258 andrea.warburton@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Linakshi Weerakoon welin097@student.otago.ac.nz
Zihan (Hannah) Xu zihan.xu@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Chao (Rebecca) Yang rebecca.yang@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Minami Yoshida yosmi951@student.otago.ac.nz
Erin Young erin.young@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Yuanyang Zhang ext 8258 yuanyang.zhang@postgrad.otago.ac.nz

Past members of the Department of Food Science

  • Associate Professor John Birch