Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Thursday 6 August 2020 3:15pm

Emily Gordon in music studio 2020 Image
Emily Gordon is one of eight University of Otago graduates to receive a 2020 Fulbright New Zealand award.

Eight University of Otago graduates from across the University have been named Fulbright New Zealand award winners.

Announced prior to the Fulbright New Zealand Awards, held at Parliament yesterday, the Otago award winners will be furthering their study in Law, Neuroscience, Public Health, Music, Geography, Genetics, Physics and Public Policy. They have been awarded either Science and Innovation Graduate awards, or General Graduate awards.

Fulbright Science and Innovation Graduate award winner Emily Gordon will be studying towards a PhD in Atmospheric Science at Colorado State University.

“We focus on using new data science methods to make better predictions of the global climate system, and learn where predictability comes from,” says Emily.

“This award is an amazing opportunity for me to work with and learn from an amazing group of scientists in the US and experience a diverse range of perspectives. I'm really looking forward to being completely immersed in research and coursework about our planet's atmosphere.”

Fulbright NZ Science and Innovation Graduates from Otago include:

  • Alice Marsh – Alice will complete a Master of Science in Strategic Design and Management at Parsons School of Design in New York City, New York. Alice graduated with a BSc in Neuroscience, and an LLB in 2015.
  • Tom Devine – Tom will complete a Master of Public Health specialising in Sociomedical Sciences and History, Ethics and Law at Columbia University in New York City, New York. Tom graduated with a BSc in Microbiology (Hons First Class).
  • Hamish Prince – Hamish will complete a PhD in Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences at the University of Wisconsin‐Madison, in Madison, Wisconsin. Hamish graduated with a BSc (Hons First Class) in 2018, and an MSc in Physical Geography in 2020.
  • Anežka Hoskin – Anežka will complete a PhD in Genetics at Stanford University in Palo Alto, California. Anežka graduated with a BSc in Genetics (Hons First Class) from Massey University in 2017, and an MSc in Genetics from Otago in 2020.
  • Emily Gordon – Emily will complete a PhD in Atmospheric Science at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado. Emily graduated with a BSc in Physics and Electronics in 2017, and a BSc (Hons First Class) in Physics in 2018.

Fulbright NZ General Graduates from Otago include:

  • Nathaniel Otley – Nathaniel will complete a Master of Arts in Music Composition at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, New York. Nathaniel graduated with a MusB (Hons) in 2019.
  • Ngarangi Haerewa – Ngarangi will complete a Master of Public Policy specialising in Development at University of California, in Berkeley, California. Ngarangi graduated with a BA in Communications (Hons First Class) in 2015.
  • Laura Mackay – Laura will complete a Master of Laws specialising in Child Law at Columbia University in New York City, New York. Laura graduated with an LLB (Hons First Class) and a BA in Politics in 2015.

Earlier this year, Otago staff members Dr Dianne Sika-Paotonu and Professor Stuart Young received 2020 Fulbright Scholar Awards.

Dr Sika-Paotonu will research rheumatic fever and rheumatic heart disease at Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and the University of Oklahoma in Norman, Oklahoma. Dr Sika-Paotonu is Associate Dean (Pacific) and a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Pathology & Molecular Medicine at the University of Otago, Wellington.

Professor Young will conduct research at the Verbatim Performance Lab at New York University (Steinhardt) in New York City, New York. He is Professor of Theatre Studies in the School of Performing Arts at Otago.

Established in the USA in 1948, the Fulbright programme is one of the largest and most significant educational exchanges of scholars in the world. Fostering academic excellence and people to people connection, the Fulbright programme seeks to “bring a little more knowledge, a little more reason, and a little more compassion into world affairs,” says Penelope Borland, Executive Director of Fulbright New Zealand.

Ms Borland says COVID-19 has meant the organisation has had to “flex with the current global situation”. Some 2020 grantees will have to start their programmes online, joining other Fulbright scholars from around the globe in virtual study, while others will take up their awards at a later date.

In total, 49 New Zealanders and US graduate students, scholars, artists and professionals have been granted an award in 2020.

For further information please contact:

Margie Clark
Communications Advisor
Development and Alumni Relations Office
University of Otago
Tel +64 21 279 4021

FIND an Otago Expert

Use our Media Expertise Database to find an Otago researcher for media comment.

Back to top