Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Prizes for Genetics

Ann Wylie Prizes for 300 and 400 level Genetics

In 2005, the Board of Studies for Genetics established the Ann Wylie Prizes in Genetics to encourage excellence amongst students majoring in Genetics, the prizes are named in honour of Associate Professor Ann Wylie who established the first Genetics course at the University of Otago and are awarded to the top achieving students in 300 and 400 level genetics papers. A/Prof Ann Wylie was based in the Botany Department and was one of the members featured in the Royal Society's 150th anniversary celebration "150 in 150 words". 

Past winners of the Ann Wylie Prize for 300 level Genetics

This prize is awarded annually to the top performing student(s) in 300 level Genetics papers

2005: Gabrielle Lockett and Ciska de Rijk
2006: Bianca Dobson
2007: Matthew Benton and Matthew McNeil
2008: Christa Murray
2009: Stephanie Kamp
2010: Eleanor Middleton, Justine Anderson and Rachel Chiaroni-Clarke
2011: Sarah Macindoe
2012: Louise Daley and Juliet Whittaker
2013: Alexander Salis
2014: Emily Bridson and Andrew Harris
2015: Shelby Taylor
2016: Bianca Stewart, Stephanie Workman and Cassie Stylianou
2017: Sarah Croft
2018: Janet Reid
2019: Jonika Edgecombe

^ Top of page

Past winners of the Ann Wylie Prize for 400 level Genetics

This prize is awarded annually to the top performing Genetics Honours student(s)

2005: Lucy Ebden
2006: Gabrielle Lockett
2007: Bianca Dobson and Rosannah McCartney
2008: Matthew McNeil
2009: Julian Peat & Nathan Kenny
2010: Adam O’Neill
2011: Rachel Chiaroni-Clarke
2012: Steven Trask
2013: Bryony Leeke
2014: Olivia Tidswell
2015: Olivia Burns and Ruby White
2016: Ben Halliday
2017: Cassie Stylianou
2018: Marissa la Lec
2019: Jacqui Perkinson

^ Top of page