Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic staff

Head of School

Etienne-Nel-headProfessor Etienne Nel

Richardson Building, room 4C8. See Reception (Rm 4C9) to make an appointment.
Tel +64 3 479 8548
Email etienne.nel@otago.ac.nz

Economic and urban geography

Chief Course Adviser and Senior Arts Adviser


Academics

Tony Binns Staff photoProfessor Tony Binns

Richardson Building, room 4C19
Tel +64 3 479 5356
Email tony.binns@otago.ac.nz

Sustainable livelihoods and community-based development

Ron Lister Chair in Geography


Sean-Fitzsimons-headProfessor Sean Fitzsimons

Richardson Building room 4C13
Tel +64 3 479 8786
Email sean.fitzsimons@otago.ac.nz

Contemporary geomorphology processes

Senior Science Adviser


ClaireFreeman-headProfessor Claire Freeman

Richardson Building, room 4C21
Tel +64 3 479 8785
Email claire.freeman@otago.ac.nz

Sustainable community planning and development


Professor Michelle Thompson-FawcettM ThompsonFawcett Staff Photo

Richardson Building, room 4C17
Tel +64 3 479 8762
Email michelle.thompson-fawcett@otago.ac.nz

Contemporary environmental management, planning, governance and decision-making activities

On research and study leave Semester One and Two 2020


Nicolas Cullen 2020 imageAssociate Professor Nicolas Cullen

Richardson Building room 4C12a
Tel +63 3 479 3069
Emails nicolas.cullen@otago.ac.nz

Meteorology and climatology, glaciology, glacier and ice sheet mass balance and climate


Doug-Hill-headAssociate Professor Doug Hill

Richardson Building, room 4C14
Tel +64 3 479 8775
Email douglas.hill@otago.ac.nz

Rural development, environmental management and food security - South Asia


MikeHilton-headAssociate Professor Mike Hilton

Richardson Building, room 4C16
Tel +64 3 479 8778
Email michael.hilton@otago.ac.nz

Geomorphology, ecology and management of dunal coasts 

Senior Environmental Management Adviser


Associate Professor Wayne StephensonWayne Stephenson photo

Richardson Building, room 4N4
Tel +64 3 479 8776
Email wayne.stephenson@otago.ac.nz

Coastal geomorphology and management

Master of International Development and Planning Programme Coordinator


Sophie-Bond-headDr Sophie Bond

Senior Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C12
Tel +64 3 479 3068
Email sophie.bond@otago.ac.nz

Inequality, identity, power and place


Sean-Connelly-2-headDr Sean Connelly

Senior Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C25
Tel +64 3 479 8771
Email sean.connelly@otago.ac.nz

Sustainable community planning and development


Christina-Ergler-2-headDr Christina Ergler

Senior Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C18
Tel +64 3 479 4647
Email christina.ergler@otago.ac.nz

Geographies of children's wellbeing in urban environments


Daniel-Kingston-headDr Daniel Kingston

Senior Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C11
Tel +64 3 479 8971
Email daniel.kingston@otago.ac.nz

Hydroclimatology, atmospheric circulation


Ralf-Ohlemuller-headDr Ralf Ohlemüller

Senior Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C22
Tel +64 3 479 8784
Email ralf.ohlemuller@otago.ac.nz

Biogeography, climate change ecology, conservation


Ashraful Alam small imageDr Ashraful Alam

Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4N3
Tel +64 3 479 8769
Email ash.alam@otago.ac.nz

Urban geography, feminist political ecology, planning

Master of Planning Programme coordinator


SarahMager-2-headDr Sarah Mager

Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C23
Tel +64 3 479 4222
Email sarah.mager@otago.ac.nz

Hydrology, geomorphology


Francisco Barraza 2020 ImageDr Francisco Barraza

Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C24
Tel +64 3 479 8856
Email francisco@otago.ac.nz

Francisco is an Environmental Health and Climate Change Researcher. Research interests are: Environmental Health, Air pollution and human exposure,

Geo-sciences: statistics and modelling, Geochemistry and environmental management and Climate Change.


Michelle Scott 2020 ImageDr Michelle Scott

Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C24
Tel +64 3 479 8856
Email michelle.scott@otago.ac.nz

Understanding and encouraging sustainable choices and behaviours. Research focuses on citizen science and sensing to address local environmental issues such as air and noise pollution and the transition to low carbon energy and transport.


BenVarkalis-headBen Varkalis

Teaching Fellow

Richardson Building, room 5C12a
Tel +64 3 479 9241
Email ben.varkalis@otago.ac.nz

Ben assists with the running of GEOG101, GEOG102, ENVI111 and GEOG290


Jenny Bryant-Tokalau thumbnailAssociate Professor Jenny Bryant-Tokalau

Honorary Associate Professor