Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic staff

Head of School

Professor Michelle Thompson-FawcettM ThompsonFawcett Staff Photo

Richardson Building, see Reception Rm 4C9
Tel +64 3 479 8762
Email michelle.thompson-fawcett@otago.ac.nz

Contemporary environmental management, planning, governance and decision-making activities

Chief Course Adviser


Academics

Tony Binns Staff photoProfessor Tony Binns

Richardson Building, room 4C19
Tel +64 3 479 5356
Email tony.binns@otago.ac.nz

Sustainable livelihoods and community-based development

Ron Lister Chair in Geography


Sean-Fitzsimons-headProfessor Sean Fitzsimons

Richardson Building room 4C13
Tel +64 3 479 8786
Email sean.fitzsimons@otago.ac.nz

Contemporary geomorphology processes

Senior Science Adviser


ClaireFreeman-headProfessor Claire Freeman

Richardson Building, room 4C21
Tel +64 3 479 8785
Email claire.freeman@otago.ac.nz

Sustainable community planning and development


Etienne-Nel-headProfessor Etienne Nel

Richardson Building, room 4C24
Tel +64 3 479 8548
Email etienne.nel@otago.ac.nz

Economic and urban geography

Senior Arts Adviser


Portrait_Nicolas_CullenAssociate Professor Nicolas Cullen

Richardson Building room 4C12a
Tel +63 3 479 3069
Emails nicolas.cullen@otago.ac.nz

Meteorology and climatology, glaciology, glacier and ice sheet mass balance and climate


MikeHilton-headAssociate Professor Mike Hilton

Richardson Building, room 4C16
Tel +64 3 479 8778
Email michael.hilton@otago.ac.nz

Geomorphology, ecology and management of dunal coasts 

Senior Environmental Management Adviser


Sophie-Bond-headDr Sophie Bond

Senior Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C12
Tel +64 3 479 3068
Email sophie.bond@otago.ac.nz

Inequality, identity, power and place


Sean-Connelly-2-headDr Sean Connelly

Senior Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C25
Tel +64 3 479 8771
Email sean.connelly@otago.ac.nz

Sustainable community planning and development


Doug-Hill-headAssociate Professor Doug Hill

Richardson Building, room 4C14
Tel +64 3 479 8775
Email douglas.hill@otago.ac.nz

Rural development, environmental management and food security - South Asia


Daniel-Kingston-headDr Daniel Kingston

Senior Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C11
Tel +64 3 479 8971
Email daniel.kingston@otago.ac.nz

Hydroclimatology, atmospheric circulation

On research and study leave Semester Two 2019


Ralf-Ohlemuller-headDr Ralf Ohlemüller

Senior Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 5C22
Tel +64 3 479 8784
Email ralf.ohlemuller@otago.ac.nz

Biogeography, climate change ecology, conservation


Associate Professor Wayne StephensonWayne Stephenson photo

Richardson Building, room 4N4
Tel +64 3 479 8776
Email wayne.stephenson@otago.ac.nz

Coastal geomorphology and management

Master of International Development and Planning Programme Coordinator


Ashraful Alam small imageDr Ashraful Alam

Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4N3
Tel +64 3 479 8769
Email ash.alam@otago.ac.nz

Urban geography, feminist political ecology, planning

Master of Planning Programme coordinator


Christina-Ergler-2-headDr Christina Ergler

Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C18
Tel +64 3 479 4647
Email christina.ergler@otago.ac.nz

Geographies of children's wellbeing in urban environments

On parental leave, 2019


SarahMager-2-headDr Sarah Mager

Lecturer

Richardson Building, room 4C23
Tel +64 3 479 4222
Email sarah.mager@otago.ac.nz

Hydrology, geomorphology


BenVarkalis-headBen Varkalis

Teaching Fellow

Richardson Building, room 5C12a
Tel +64 3 479 9241
Email ben.varkalis@otago.ac.nz

Ben assists with the running of GEOG101, GEOG102, ENVI111 and GEOG290