Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

General Staff in the Department of Geology


Paulette MilnesPaulette Milnes sm

Administrator, Client Services

  • Administration/Enquiries

geology@otago.ac.nz
Email paulette.milnes@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7519


Sharon RenwickSharon Renwick sm

Administrator, Client Services

  • Administration/Enquiries

Email sharon.renwick@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7533


Hamish Bowman smHamish Bowman

Computing and Numerical Simulation Technician

  • High performance computing support
  • Numerical modelling and programming
  • Electronics and scientific instrumentation design and fabrication

Email hamish.bowman@otago.ac.nz
Google Scholar M. Hamish Bowman
ORCID orcid.org/0000-0002-0455-9421
Tel +64 3 479 7517


Gemma Kerr smGemma Kerr

Geochemistry/X ray Lab Technician
BSc (Hons)

  • Geochemistry/ X ray Lab technician
  • SEM lab

Email gemma.kerr@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7523

PhD student page for Gemma


Ray MarxRay Marx

Safety Officer/Lab Manager/Field Coordinator
BSc, MSc (Otago)

  • Department Health and Safety Officer
  • Department Lab Manager
  • Coordinating field trips

Email ray.marx@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 5695


Marianne Negrini_smDr Marianne Negrini

Electron Beam Data Technician
MSc (Uni Zurich), PhD (Uni Tromsø)

  • SEM Support

Email marianne.negrini@otago.ac.nz

Tel (SEM lab) +64 3 471 6097
Tel (Office) +64 3 479 7507


Fay Nelson smDr Faye Nelson (Marine Science)

Otago Paleomagnetic Research Facility - Lab Supervisor
PhD (Otago)

Email faye.nelson@otago.ac.nz


Dianne NyhofDianne Nyhof

Curator/Teaching Support/Outreach
BSc, PGDipSci (Otago)

  • Curating department collections
  • Teaching support for undergraduate classes
  • Outreach coordinator

Email dianne.nyhof@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7513


Brent Pooley smBrent W Pooley

Petrology Technician
BSc (Otago)

  • thin sectioning and polishing of rock samples
  • equipment maintenance

Email brent.pooley@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7502


Dr Stephen ReadStephen Read sm

Geological Mapping Technician
BSc (Hons), DipGrad, PhD (Otago)

  • mapping equipment and software
  • imagery equipment and software
  • illustration software
  • 3D visualization, modelling and analysis

Email stephen.read@otago.ac.nz


Damian Walls smDamian J Walls

Lead Client Services Administrator - Shared Services
MSc (Otago)

  • Departments of Physics, Mathematics and Statistics, Geology
  • Room 109c, Physics, Science 3 Building

Email damian.walls@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7751
Mob +64 21 279 0951


Sophie White smSophie White

Paleontology Lab Technician
BA (Otago)

  • Fossil Preparation
  • Curation and conservation of collections
  • Geology Museum

Email sophie.white@otago.ac.nz