Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Board of Graduate Studies

The Board of Graduate Studies is a Committee of Senate. It meets once a month and is responsible for the following matters relating to the PhD programme:

  • Consideration of proposed changes to the degree regulations
  • Monitoring PhD registrations, withdrawals and completion times
  • Consideration of matters of policy concerning postgraduate scholarships and awards

Graduate Research Committee

The Graduate Research Committee meets once a month. It reports to the Board of Graduate Studies and has delegated authority to:

  • Approve applications for admission to the degree
  • Make decisions on the confirmation or termination of candidature
  • Approve changes to registration details
  • Monitor progress reports and recommend appropriate action in cases of unsatisfactory progress
  • Approve the appointment of examiners
  • Determine the result of examinations after considering recommendations made by examiners

Graduate Research Student Liaison Committee

The Graduate Research Student Liaison Committee meets four times a year. The committee has a purely advisory function, discussing current issues relating to research students.

The Committee reports to the Graduate Research Committee and may make recommendations for changes to any appropriate processes or regulations. Any recommendations or proposed actions will be discussed by the Graduate Research Committee, which will take further action where appropriate.

The constitution of the Committee is as follows:

  • Dean, Graduate Research School (Convener)
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Enterprise)
  • One academic member of the Graduate Research Committee
  • Manager, Graduate Research School
  • Scholarships Manager, Graduate Research School
  • Two student representatives from each of the teaching Divisions of the Dunedin campus
  • One student representative from the University of Otago Wellington
  • One student representative from the University of Otago Christchurch
  • One distance student representative
  • Two representatives of Māori students
  • Two representatives of Pacific Islands students
  • Two international students representatives
  • The OUSA Postgraduate Representative
  • The OUPS president

The committee represents thesis Masters and PhD students.

^ Top of Page