Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Health Research Excellence Awards

Celebrating Health Research Excellence Partnerships


The ongoing and unique research partnership between the Dunedin School of Medicine and the Southern District Health Board were acknowledged at the annual Health Research Excellence Awards at 5pm on Wednesday, 30 May 2018 at the Dunedin Public Art Gallery, where staff from both organisations gathered to acknowledge researchers and research initiatives.

^ Top of page

2018 awards

The following awards were available. Click on the links to read or download more information.

^ Top of page

Full list of awards 2018


Professor Barry Taylor, Dunedin School of Medicine and Chris Fleming, Southern District Health Board together with the Health Research South Board would like to congratulate the following award winners

Dunedin School of Medicine Awards

Dean’s Medal for Research Excellence

Professor Stephen Robertson (Department of Women's and Children's Health)

Research Development Investment

Professor Rachael Taylor (Department of Medicine)

Research Publication Awards

Professor Philip Hill (Department of Preventive and Social Medicine)
Dr Judith Marsman (Department of Surgical Sciences)
Dr Lianne Parkin (Department of Preventive and Social Medicine)

Best Published Paper by a Masters or PhD Student Award

Michael Meier (Department of Pathology)

Prizes and Scholarships

Gil Barbezat Summer Studentship Prize

Sharmaine Sreedhar (Department of General Practice and Rural Health)

Highly commended

Caitlyn Cunningham Tisdall (Department of Psychological Medicine)

The Emily Johnston Scholarship

Dr Gloria Dainty (Department of Women’s and Children’s Health)

Clinical Research Scholarship

Dr Carol Atmore (Department of General Practice and Rural Health)

Super Summer Studentship Award

Nicholas Hall (SDepartment of urgical Sciences)
Isabelle Lomax-Sawyers (Department of General Practice and Rural Health)

Southern District Health Board Awards

Health Service Delivery

Mr Jon Potter, Mr John Woodfield, and Tracy de Woeps  (Better Surgical Outcomes in the Community)

Dr Ben Brockway, Associate Professor Yoram Barak, and Kristina Aluzaite (Naturalistic Lighting)

Best Collaboration Award

Mr Craig MacKenzie (SDHB Pharmacy) and
Dr Rhiannon Braund (Department of Preventive and Social Medicine)

Dunedin School of Medicine Departmental Awards

The Jan Breward Award for Research Excellence in General Practice

Dr Lauralie Richard

Department of Medicine Excellence in Research Support

Merrilee Williams

Department of Women’s and Children’s Excellence in Research Support

Sarah-Jane Robertson

Department of Pathology Excellence in Research Support

Katie Young

Department of Preventive and Social Medicine Early Career Research Award

Dr Amy Richardson

Excellence in Research Support

Bronwyn Hughes

Dean’s Department Excellence in Research Support

Ruth Sharpe

^ Top of page

Further information

For further information on these awards, please contact:

Moira Finn

Southern DHB Senior Communications Advisor

^ Top of page