Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Terms of Reference

  • To ensure that appropriate standards of quality are established and maintained in the postgraduate programmes offered by the Humanities Division, including Postgraduate Diplomas, Bachelor degrees with Honours, Master’s degrees, and the Doctor of Philosophy;
  • To oversee the strategic development of postgraduate degrees;
  • To consider any matters that are specific to postgraduate degrees or programmes that would enhance the student experience;
  • To consider and make recommendations to the Academic/Divisional Board on postgraduate policies and proposals recommended to it by the Academic/Divisional Board or the Pro-Vice-Chancellor;
  • To make recommendations to the Humanities Academic Committee on specific proposals for curriculum development at the postgraduate level;
  • To review and make responses or recommendations to appropriate bodies on postgraduate matters referred to the Division for comment;
  • To review the Terms of Reference annually to ensure the committee’s roles are current.
  • The Committee may form Working Parties that may include other members of the Division.

^ Top of Page


  • The Associate Dean (Graduate Studies), Convenor (ex officio)
  • The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (ex officio)
  • Six members of the academic staff of the Division*
  • The committee may co-opt additional members

Normally, members serve for three years and two are replaced each year.
Secretarial and administrative support is provided by the Divisional Office.

*Membership will reflect a balance between genders, disciplines, and appointment levels. Where necessary, co-option will be used to achieve such balance. Members will not be representing any department or other group but will be providing their individual vision, wisdom and insight. Membership of the committee will be regarded as significant service to the Division.

^ Top of Page


The Committee will normally meet monthly.

^ Top of Page

Current Committee

  • Associate Professor Margaret Briggs (Faculty of Law)
  • Ms Carol Forbes (Humanities Divisional Office)
  • Dr Christopher Holmes (Theology and Religion)
  • Dr Emily Keddell (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)
  • Associate Professor Lachy Paterson (Te Tumu) [Convenor]
  • Dr Gill Rutherford (College of Education)
  • Dr Wayne Stephenson (Geography)
  • Associate Professor Martin Tolich (Sociology, Gender and Social Work)