Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Terms of reference for the Academic Committee

Terms of Reference

  • To develop proposals and discussion papers and to make recommendations to the Divisional Board, Schools, and the Pro-Vice-Chancellor on academic policies and on academic strategic developments
  • To make recommendations to the Divisional Board on specific proposals for curriculum development
  • To review and make responses or recommendations to appropriate bodies on academic matters referred to the Division for comment
  • To oversee the strategic development of undergraduate degrees in the Division and to exercise particular oversight of the Bachelor of Arts degree

The Committee may form Working Parties which may include other members of the Division.

^ Top of Page


  • The Associate Dean (Academic), Convenor (ex officio)
  • The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (ex officio)
  • One representative from: Geography, Performing Arts, The College of Education, Faculty of Law, and Te Tumu, and two representatives from School of Arts, and School of Social Sciences*
  • Two representatives from OUSA
  • The committee may co-opt additional members

Normally, members serve for three years and two are replaced each year.

Secretarial and administrative support is provided by the Divisional Office.

*Membership will reflect a balance between genders, disciplines, and appointment levels. Where necessary, co-option will be used to achieve such balance. Membership of the committee will be regarded as significant service to the Division.

Download a copy of the terms of reference and the membership of the Academic Committee (Constitution) (PDF)

^ Top of Page


The Committee will normally meet monthly.

Academic Committee and Divisional Board meeting dates, 2020 (PDF)

^ Top of Page

Forms and information on University Academic Committees

Go to the Proformas for New Proposals page

^ Top of page

Current Committee

  • Dr Anne Begg (Social Sciences)
  • Dr Lynnette Carter (Te Tumu)
  • Dr Sean Connelly (Geography)
  • OUSA rep (to be advised)
  • Ms Carol Forbes (Specialist AC & S)
  • Professor Shelley Griffiths (Law)
  • OUSA rep (to be advised)
  • Professor Henry Johnson (Performing Arts)
  • Dr Chris Linsell (Education)
  • Dr Daniel Osland (Arts)
  • Dr Zac Weber (Arts)
  • ^ Top of page