Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Kaiāwhina Māori – Support for Māori students

Helpful links for Māori students

Kaiāwhina Māori — Māori Student Support Officers

The Division of Humanities Kaiāwhina Māori network is here to help students:

  • access academic and pastoral support
  • provide assistance with advocacy and scholarships,
  • and liaise with Humanities departments regarding things Māori.

Our Divisional Kaiāwhina work with a team of Kaiāwhina across the Division.

The team of Kaiāwhina are also available to help with any queries or issues you may have.

Tēnā koutou katoa

The Kaiāwhina Māori role is jointly filled by Jovan Mokaraka-Harris and Ella Walsh.

Jovan Mokaraka-Harris

Kia ora mai tātou,

Niniwa ki te raki, Arai Te Uru ki te tonga.
Ko te Whīkiti o Tupoto nga pae maunga.
E rere mai nga uaua i roto i Te Awanui o Hokianga.
He uri au no ērā hapori arā ko Jovan James Mokaraka-Harris tōku ingoa.

Sharing my role with Ella, I am very humbled to be one of two Kaiāwhina Māori within the Division of Humanities.

I am currently in the first year of my Geography PhD. Throughout postgraduate studies my research background and interests have revolved around indigenous geographies and how both indigenous political and knowledge structures have changed overtime and impacted indigenous aspirations and development. Ella and I are both here to support humanities tauira (students) and to tautoko their academic studies and journey through university.

Tel +64 3 479 8681
Mob +64 21 279 8681

Ella Walsh

Ko Ngāpuhi tōku iwi.
No Tāmaki Makaurau ahau, engari kei Ōtepōti tōku kāinga.
Ko Ella Walsh tōku ingoa.

I am very privileged to be in this role alongside Jovan. At the moment I am finishing my dissertation as required for my Masters of Indigenous Studies (MIndS). My research looks at my own whānau as a case study to see how our Māori identity has changed over three generations. I look forward to meeting all of the different staff around campus and engaging with our first-year tauira.

Tel +64 3 479 8681
Mob +64 21 279 8681

^ Top of page

Humanities Kaiāwhina contacts


Professor Richard Walter


Dr Arlene Allan

College of Education

Dunedin Campus

Professor David Bell

Yvonne Brouwer

Dr Michael Gaffney

Associate Professor Alex Gunn

Dr Rachel Martin

Southland Campus

Parker Ormond

English and Linguistics

Nicola Cummins


Ben Varkalis

Languages and Cultures

Faculty of Law

Ben Nevell

Mihiata Pirini

Media, Film and Communication

Dr Anne Begg

Dr Davinia Thornley

Music, Theatre Studies & Performing Arts


Dr Jennifer Cattermole

Theatre Studies and Performing Arts

Hilary Halba

National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

Dr Heather Devere


Dr Andrew Moore

Religion Dr Deane Galbraith
Social Anthropology Dr Deane Galbraith

Sociology, Gender and Social Work

Shayne Walker

Anaru Eketone

Te Tumu

Dr Lyn Carter


Revd Dr James Harding

^ Top of page

Library Contacts

Lisa Chisholm
Liaison Librarian, Robertson Library

Alexander Ritchie
Subject Librarian, Robertson Library

Jacinta Beckwith
Hocken Collections

Katherine Milburn
Hocken Collections

Student Learning Centre Contact

Pauline Brook
Tel +64 3 479 5788

Career Development Centre Contacts

Yvonne Gaut
Tel +64 3 479 9149

Petra Hass
Tel +64 3 479 5354

^ Top of page