Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Kaiāwhina Māori – Support for Māori students

Helpful links for Māori students

Kaiāwhina Māori — Māori Student Support Officers

The Division of Humanities Kaiāwhina Māori network is here to help students:

  • access academic and pastoral support
  • provide assistance with advocacy and scholarships,
  • and liaise with Humanities departments regarding things Māori.

Our Divisional Kaiāwhina work with a team of Kaiāwhina across the Division.

The team of Kaiāwhina are also available to help with any queries or issues you may have.

Tēnā koutou katoa

The Kaiāwhina Māori role is jointly filled by Jovan Mokaraka-Harris and Ella Walsh.

Jovan Mokaraka-Harris

Kia ora mai tātou,

Niniwa ki te raki, Arai Te Uru ki te tonga.
Ko te Whīkiti o Tupoto nga pae maunga.
E rere mai nga uaua i roto i Te Awanui o Hokianga.
He uri au no ērā hapori arā ko Jovan James Mokaraka-Harris tōku ingoa.

Sharing my role with Ella, I am very humbled to be one of two Kaiāwhina Māori within the Division of Humanities.

I am currently in the first year of my Geography PhD. Throughout postgraduate studies my research background and interests have revolved around indigenous geographies and how both indigenous political and knowledge structures have changed overtime and impacted indigenous aspirations and development. Ella and I are both here to support humanities tauira (students) and to tautoko their academic studies and journey through university.

Tel +64 3 479 8681
Email humanities.kaiawhina@otago.ac.nz

Ella Walsh

Ko Ngāpuhi tōku iwi.
No Tāmaki Makaurau ahau, engari kei Ōtepōti tōku kāinga.
Ko Ella Walsh tōku ingoa.

I am very privileged to be in this role alongside Jovan. At the moment I am finishing my dissertation as required for my Masters of Indigenous Studies (MIndS). My research looks at my own whānau as a case study to see how our Māori identity has changed over three generations. I look forward to meeting all of the different staff around campus and engaging with our first-year tauira.

Tel +64 3 479 8681
Email humanities.kaiawhina@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Humanities Kaiāwhina contacts

Archaeology

Professor Richard Walter
richard.walter@otago.ac.nz

Classics

Dr Arlene Allan
arlene.allan@otago.ac.nz

College of Education

Dunedin Campus

Professor David Bell
david.bell@otago.ac.nz

Yvonne Brouwer
yvonne.brouwer@otago.ac.nz

Hilda Hughson
hilda.hughson@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Alex Gunn
alex.gunn@otago.ac.nz
on research leave second semester 2019

Southland Campus

Parker Ormond
parker.ormond@otago.ac.nz

English and Linguistics

Nicola Cummins
nicola.cummins@otago.ac.nz

Geography

Ben Varkalis
btv@geography.otago.ac.nz

History and Art History

Professor Tom Brooking
tom.brooking@otago.ac.nz

Languages and Cultures

Faculty of Law

Associate Professor Jacinta Ruru
jacinta.ruru@otago.ac.nz

Media, Film and Communication

Dr Anne Begg
anne.begg@otago.ac.nz

Dr Davinia Thornley
davinia.thornley@otago.ac.nz

Music, Theatre Studies & Performing Arts

Music

Dr Jennifer Cattermole
jennifer.cattermole@otago.ac.nz

Theatre Studies and Performing Arts

Hilary Halba
hilary.halba@otago.ac.nz

National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

Dr Heather Devere
heather.devere@otago.ac.nz

Philosophy

Dr Andrew Moore
andrew.moore@otago.ac.nz

Politics

Dr Iati Iati
iati.iati@otago.ac.nz

Psychology

kaiawhina@psy.otago.ac.nz

Sociology, Gender and Social Work

Shayne Walker
shayne.walker@otago.ac.nz

Anaru Eketone
anaru.eketone@otago.ac.nz

Te Tumu

Dr Lyn Carter
lyn.carter@otago.ac.nz

Theology

Revd Dr James Harding
james.harding@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Library Contacts

Lisa Chisholm
Liaison Librarian, Robertson Library
Email lisa.chisholm@otago.ac.nz

Alexander Ritchie
Subject Librarian, Robertson Library
Email alexander.ritchie@otago.ac.nz

Jacinta Beckwith
Hocken Collections
Email jacinta.beckwith@otago.ac.nz

Katherine Milburn
Hocken Collections
Email katherine.milburn@otago.ac.nz

Student Learning Centre Contact

Pauline Brook
pauline.brook@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 5788

Career Development Centre Contacts

Yvonne Gaut
yvonne.gaut@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 9149

Petra Hass
petra.hass@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 5354

^ Top of page