Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Kaiāwhina Māori – Support for Māori students

Helpful links for Māori students

Kaiāwhina Māori — Māori Student Support Officer

The Division of Humanities Kaiāwhina Māori network is here to help students:

  • access academic and pastoral support
  • provide assistance with advocacy and scholarships,
  • and liaise with Humanities departments regarding things Māori.

Our Divisional Kaiāwhina work with a team of Kaiāwhina across the Division.

The team of Kaiāwhina are also available to help with any queries or issues you may have.

Tēnā koutou katoa

The Kaiāwhina Māori role is held by Tenaya Brown.

Tenaya Brown

Kia ora mai tātou,

Ko Titirangi te maunga
Ko Ūawanui-a-Ruamatua te awa
Ko Horouta te waka
Ko Puketāwai raua ko Hinemaurea ōku marae
Ko Te-Aitanga-ā-Hauiti te hapū
Ko Ngāti Porou te iwi

Ko Tenaya Hera-Maree Brown tōku ingoa.

I am beyond privileged to be given the opportunity to support our tauira (students) Māori in the Humanities Division/ Te Kete Aronui. I am a graduate of the School of Performing Arts and have high hopes to endeavour down a postgraduate teaching pathway. I look forward to meeting our first year tauira, making connections with all our support staff around campus and supporting all Humanities tauira with their academic studies and their journeys at the University of Otago.

As the support person for tauira Māori enrolled in Humanities papers and degrees, my key responsibilities are:

  • To liaise with academic departments and support services with respect to any issues relating to you and your course of study
  • To act as a point of contact for all Māori students enrolled in Humanities papers and degrees
  • To facilitate access to pastoral care, student services, course planning advice within the university

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions, feedback or concerns. Please be assured that all information you share will be treated with utmost confidentiality.

Tel +64 3 479 8681
Mobile +64 21 279 8681
Email humanities.kaiawhina@otago.ac.nz
Web otago.ac.nz/humanities
Office hours Monday–Friday 9:00am–5:00pm

Please send me an email to make an appointment if you wish to meet at a time outside my regular office hours.

Room 5C9
5th Floor, Burns Arts Building
Albany Street
Dunedin

^ Top of page

Humanities Kaiāwhina contacts

Archaeology

Professor Richard Walter
richard.walter@otago.ac.nz

Classics

Dr Arlene Allan
arlene.allan@otago.ac.nz

College of Education

Dunedin Campus

Dr Michael Gaffney
michael.gaffney@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Alex Gunn
alex.gunn@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rachel Martin
rachel.s.martin@otago.ac.nz

Southland Campus

Parker Ormond
parker.ormond@otago.ac.nz

English and Linguistics

Nicola Cummins
nicola.cummins@otago.ac.nz

Geography

Ben Varkalis
btv@geography.otago.ac.nz

Michelle Thompson-Fawcett
michelle.thompson-fawcett@otago.ac.nz

Languages and Cultures

Moira Fortin Cornejo
moira.fortincornejo@otago.ac.nz

Faculty of Law

Ben Nevell
ben.nevell@otago.ac.nz

Mihiata Pirini
mihiata.pirini@otago.ac.nz

Media, Film and Communication

Dr Anne Begg
anne.begg@otago.ac.nz

Dr Davinia Thornley
davinia.thornley@otago.ac.nz

Music, Theatre Studies & Performing Arts

Music

Dr Jennifer Cattermole
jennifer.cattermole@otago.ac.nz

Theatre Studies and Performing Arts

Hilary Halba
hilary.halba@otago.ac.nz

National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

Dr Heather Devere
heather.devere@otago.ac.nz

Philosophy

Dr Andrew Moore
andrew.moore@otago.ac.nz

Psychology

kaiawhina@psy.otago.ac.nz
Religion Dr Deane Galbraith
deane.galbraith@otago.ac.nz
Social Anthropology Dr Deane Galbraith
deane.galbraith@otago.ac.nz

Sociology, Gender and Social Work

Shayne Walker
shayne.walker@otago.ac.nz

Anaru Eketone
anaru.eketone@otago.ac.nz

Te Tumu

Paia Taani
paia.taani@otago.ac.nz

Theology

Revd Dr Wayne Te Kaawa
wayne.tekaawa@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Library Contacts

Lisa Chisholm
Liaison Librarian, Robertson Library
Email lisa.chisholm@otago.ac.nz

Alexander Ritchie
Subject Librarian, Robertson Library
Email alexander.ritchie@otago.ac.nz

Jacinta Beckwith
Hocken Collections
Email jacinta.beckwith@otago.ac.nz

Katherine Milburn
Hocken Collections
Email katherine.milburn@otago.ac.nz

Student Learning Centre Contact

Pauline Brook
pauline.brook@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 5788

Career Development Centre Contacts

Yvonne Gaut
yvonne.gaut@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 9149

Petra Hass
petra.hass@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 5354

^ Top of page