Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Support for Pacific Islands students

Pacific Islands students' support

Warm Pacific greetings

Sia Lei image 2021
Talofa Lava, my name is Sia Lei-Mata’afa and I am the Pacific Islands Students’ Support Officer in the Division of Humanities.

I am Samoan, born and raised in Dunedin. I have a Bachelor of Teaching endorsed in Primary Education from the University of Otago, College of Education.

I am excited to be supporting students from the Pacific Islands. I am here to work with you, support you, and assist you on your academic journey to Otago.

As the support person for Pacific Islands students enrolled in Humanities papers and degrees, my key responsibilities are:

  • To liaise with academic departments and support services with respect to any issues relating to you and your course of study
  • To act as a point of contact for all Pacific Islands students enrolled in Humanities papers and degrees
  • To facilitate access to pastoral care, student services, course planning advice within the university

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions, feedback or concerns. Please be assured that all information you share will be treated with utmost confidentiality.

Contact details

Tel +64 3 479 9616
Email pacificsupport.humanities@otago.ac.nz
Office Room 5C9a, Fifth Floor, Arts Building
95 Albany Street, University of Otago, Dunedin

My office hours

Monday – Thursday 9:00am – 5:00pm | Friday 9:00am – 12:30pm

Please send me an email to make an appointment if you would like to meet at a time outside my regular office hours.

^ Top of page

Departmental Pacific Islands students' contacts

Anthropology & Archaeology

Professor Glenn Summerhayes
glenn.summerhayes@otago.ac.nz

Classics

Dr Arlene Allan
arlene.allan@otago.ac.nz

College of Education

 Dunedin Campus

Karina Nafatali
karina.nafatali@otago.ac.nz

English and Linguistics

Dr Rochelle Simmons
rochelle.simmons@otago.ac.nz

Geography

Ben Varkalis
btv@geography.otago.ac.nz

History

Dr Frances Steel
frances.steel@otago.ac.nz

Languages and Cultures

Dr Christiane Leurquin
christiane.leurquin@otago.ac.nz

Faculty of Law

Professor Rex Ahdar
rex.ahdar@otago.ac.nz

Media, Film and Communication

Dr Kevin Fisher
kevin.fisher@otago.ac.nz

Music, Theatre and Performing Arts

Music

Dr Jennifer Cattermole
jennifer.cattermole@otago.ac.nz

Theatre Studies

Lisa Warrington
lisa.warrington@otago.ac.nz

Bachelor of Performing Arts

Dr Suzanne Little
suzanne.little@otago.ac.nz

National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

Associate Professor SungYong Lee
sungyong.lee@otago.ac.nz

Philosophy

Associate Professor Andrew Moore
andrew.moore@otago.ac.nz

Politics

Dr Iati Iati  (Semester 1)
iati.iati@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Brian Roper (Semester 2)
brian.roper@otago.ac.nz

Psychology

Dr Mele Taumoepeau
mele@psy.otago.ac.nz

Religion Associate Professor John Shaver
john.shaver@otago.ac.nz

Sociology, Gender Studies and Criminology

Associate Professor Patrick Vakaoti
patrick.vakaoti@otago.ac.nz

Te Tumu

Dr Michelle Schaaf
michelle.schaaf@otago.ac.nz

Theology

Professor Murray Rae
murray.rae@otago.ac.nz

Library contacts

Katherine Milburn
Hocken Library
Email katherine.milburn@otago.ac.nz

Amanda Mills
Liaison Librarian, Hocken Library
Email amanda.mills@otago.ac.nz

Megan Vaughan
Subject Librarian, Commerce and Humanities (Law) Library
Email megan.vaughan@otago.ac.nz

Student Learning Development

Pauline Brook
Email pauline.brook@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 5788

Student Learning Development at the Higher Education Development Centre