Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Support for Pacific Islands Students

Pacific Islands Students' Support

Warm Pacific Greetings

Photo of Inano WalterKia orana, my name is Inano Walter and I am the Pacific Islands Students' Support Officer in the Humanities Division.

I am of Cook Island and European descent, born in Rarotonga and raised in Dunedin. I have a Bachelor of Arts in History and Māori Studies, a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in History and a Master of Arts History from the University of Otago.

I am excited to be supporting and encouraging students from all the Pacific Islands as I have traversed the same path before. I am here to work with you, support you and assist you on your academic journey to Otago.

As the support person for Pacific Islanders enrolled in Humanities papers and degrees my key objectives are:

  • To liaise with academic departments and support services with respect to any issues relating to you and your course of study
  • To act as a point of contact for all Pacific Island students enrolled in Humanities papers and degrees.
  • To facilitate access to pastoral care, student services, course planning advice within the university.

Please feel free to contact me if you have question, a comment or a concern. Confidentiality and prompt action with any problems or queries you may have are guaranteed.

Tel 64 3 479 9616
Email pacificsupport.humanities@otago.ac.nz
Office Room 5C9a, Fifth Floor, Arts Building
95 Albany Street, University of Otago, Dunedin

My office hours

Wednesday 9am to 4pm | Thursday 9am to 4pm

Please send me an email to make an appointment if you would like to meet at a time outside my regular office hours.

^ Top of page

Departmental Pacific Islands Students contacts

Anthropology & Archaeology

Professor Glenn Summerhayes
glenn.summerhayes@otago.ac.nz

Classics

Dr Arlene Allan
arlene.allan@otago.ac.nz

College of Education

 

Trish Wells
trish.wells@otago.ac.nz

Southland Campus

Pauline Smith
pauline.smith@otago.ac.nz

English and Linguistics

Dr Rochelle Simmons
rochelle.simmons@otago.ac.nz

Geography

Ben Varkalis
btv@geography.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

History and Art History

Professor Judy Bennett
judy.bennett@otago.ac.nz

Languages and Cultures

Dr Christiane Leurquin
christiane.leurquin@otago.ac.nz

Faculty of Law

Professor Rex Ahdar
rex.ahdar@otago.ac.nz

Media, Film and Communication

Dr Kevin Fisher
kevin.fisher@otago.ac.nz

Music, Theatre and Performing Arts

Music

Dr Jennifer Cattermole
jennifer.cattermole@otago.ac.nz

Theatre Studies

Lisa Warrington
lisa.warrington@otago.ac.nz

Bachelor of Performing Arts

Dr Suzanne Little
suzanne.little@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

Dr SungYong Lee
sungyong.lee@otago.ac.nz

Philosophy

Associate Professor Andrew Moore
andrew.moore@otago.ac.nz

Politics

Dr Iati Iati  (First Semester)
iati.iati@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Brian Roper (Second Semester)
brian.roper@otago.ac.nz

Psychology

Dr Mele Taumoepeau
mele@psy.otago.ac.nz

Sociology, Gender and Social Work

Dr Patrick Vakaoti
patrick.vakaoti@otago.ac.nz

Te Tumu

Dr Michelle Schaaf
michelle.schaaf@otago.ac.nz

Theology and Religion

Professor Murray Rae
murray.rae@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Library Contacts

Jacinta Beckwith
Kaitiaki Mātauranga, Hocken Library
jacinta.beckwith@otago.ac.nz

Katherine Milburn
Hocken Library
katherine.milburn@otago.ac.nz

Amanda Mills
Liaison Librarian, Hocken Library
amanda.mills@otago.ac.nz

Student Learning Development

Pauline Brook
pauline.brook@otago.ac.nz
+64 3 479 5788