Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Humanities research grants and Research Committee

Humanities Research Grants

The Humanities Research Grant (HRG) is a competitive funding scheme to support excellence in research and scholarship in the Division of Humanities at the University of Otago.

Humanities research grants are open to applications from:

  • Individual researchers (may include a co-investigator)
  • Research Clusters and Networks within the Division
  • Informal or occasional groups of researchers in the Humanities (e.g. to convene a conference or similar event)

Humanities Research Grant guidelines, application forms and final report form.

Humanities Research Committee

Terms of Reference

  • To provide leadership in research activity for the Division, by promoting, fostering and facilitating research.
  • To develop and maintain an Implementation Plans for the Divisional Strategic Plan
  • To assist in the assessment of UORG applications in the Humanities through participation in the University’s assessment panels.
    to make recommendations to the PVC on the allocation and administration of research funds, including HRG applications and other research funding allocations.
  • To ensure that information is readily available to Divisional staff about research grant opportunities.
  • To provide strategic and practical advice to academic staff applying for research grants.
  • To advise the PVC, Deans and HoDs on any matters which are referred to the Research Committee for advice, including strategic and management plans and goals, and the monitoring of the outcomes of these, insofar as they affect research in the Division.
  • ^ Top of Page


  • The Associate Dean (Research), convener (ex officio).
  • The Divisional Administration Manager (ex officio).
  • Secretarial and administrative support provided by the Divisional Office.
  • A minimum of eight and a maximum of twelve research-active, academic staff members called for by nomination and appointed by the PVC, to provide representation across the Division.


1. Appointees should include two early-career staff representatives;
2. appointees should include staff who have experience in gaining major external research grants, e.g. Marsden; MBIE; NZLF;
3. appointees should include staff who are distinguished researchers;
4. appointees should include staff who hold portfolios relating to research in the Departments, Faculties and Schools of the Division;
5. appointments are to be made on a mixture of two and three years, to provide for continuity of experience;
6. appointments are to be renewable for one further term.
7. Research Advisor(s) from the Research Office.
8. The Committee to have the power to co-opt staff onto the committee.

^ Top of Page


The Committee meets regularly through the year.

^ Top of Page

Current Membership (updated November 2017)

Convenor: Associate Professor James Maclaurin (ex officio Associate Dean Research)
Secretary: Farai Madambi, Humanities Divisional Office


  • Dr David Berg, University of Otago College of Education
  • Professor Margaret Briggs, Faculty of Law
  • Dr Sean Connelly, Department of Geography
  • Cathy Thomson (ex officio Divisional Administration Manager)
  • Dr Suzanne Little, Department of Music, Theatre and Performing Arts
  • Associate Professor Anthony Ritchie, Department of Music, Theatre and Performing Arts
  • Dr Mark Seymour, Department of History and Art History
  • Dr John Shaver, Department of Theology and Religion
  • Dr Mike Stevens, Department of History and Art History
  • Dr Tim Thomas, Department of Anthropology & Archaeology
  • Marjolein Righarts, (ex officio Humanities Research Adviser)

Humanities Research Adviser

Marjolein Righarts

Phone: +64 3 479 4173