Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Humanities Research Committee and Research Advisers

Humanities Research Committee

Terms of Reference

  • To provide leadership in research activity for the Division, by promoting, fostering and facilitating research
  • To provide leadership in implementation of research goals in the Divisional Strategic Plan, taking account particularly of the PBRF system and its impact
  • To assist in the assessment of UORG applications in the Humanities and Social Sciences through participation in the University’s assessment panels
  • To make recommendations to the PVC on the allocation and administration of research funds, including DRG applications and other research funding allocations
  • To ensure that information is readily available to Divisional staff about research grant opportunities
  • To provide strategic and practical advice to academic staff applying for research grants
  • To advise the PVC, Deans and Heads of School on any matters which are referred to the Research Committee for advice, including strategic and management plans and goals, and the monitoring of the outcomes of these, insofar as they affect research in the Division
  • ^ Top of Page


  • The Associate Dean (Research), Convenor (ex officio)
  • A representative from each of the following: Geography, Performing Arts, the College of Education, Faculty of Law, and Te Tumu: School of Maori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies; and two representatives from each of the School or Arts and the School of Social Sciences


The Committee meets regularly through the year.

^ Top of Page

Current Membership (updated January 2020)

Convenor: Professor James Maclaurin (ex officio Associate Dean Research)


  • Professor Andrew Geddis, Faculty of Law
  • Associate Professor Karen Nairn University of Otago College of Education
  • Dr Bryndl Hohman-Mariott, School of Social Science
  • Dr Lena Tan, School of Social Science
  • Dr Tangiwai Rewi, Te Tumu School of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies
  • Dr Suzanne Little, School of Performing Arts
  • Dr Cecelia Novero, School of Arts
  • Eugene Kavale, Student Rep
  • School of Geography — soon to be assigned

Humanities Research Advisers

Marjolein Righarts

Mobile +64 21 279 1808

Natalie Harfoot

Tel +64 3 479 4173
Mobile +64 21 279 4173