Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Award for Exceptional Performance by Professional Staff

The University of Otago Award for Exceptional Performance by Professional Staff (previously known as the General Staff Award) was instituted in November 2004 by the Vice Chancellor’s Advisory Group. The purpose of this annual award is to recognise and reward members of the professional staff who have made an outstanding contribution to the University of Otago.

Health and Safety Excellence Awards

These inaugural awards are available to all staff  to recognise their commitment to health and safety.

  • Excellence Award in Health and Safety (Individual)
  • Excellence Award in Health and Safety (Team)
  • Excellence Award in Health and Safety (Member of the wider Health and Safety team*)

* The wider Health and Safety team includes Sector Managers, Departmental Health and Safety Officers, Departmental Laboratory Managers, Health and Safety Committees (including IBSC), and Health and Safety Representatives. The Health and Safety Compliance Team is not included.

The 2019 Staff Awards

The nomination process for this year’s awards is now open. Please see the terms and nomination forms to the right of this page.

Nominations close at 5:00pm on Thursday 12 September 2019.

If you have any queries please contact:
Ralph Miller
Training Co-ordinator
Human Resources
270 Leith Walk

The 2018 Award Winners

The University's 2018 Professional Staff Award recipients, front from left, Dr Pascal Sirguey, Claire Gallop, Vice-Chancellor Professor Harlene Hayne, Recreation Services Manager Daniel Porter, and Rebecca Kurtovich and Sophie Ehlers, both of Recreation Services. Back row, from left, Recreational Services staff Ashley Petterson, Josh Policarpio, Rodney Martin, Christine MacDonell and Liz Campbell. Photo credit: Sharron Bennett (photo from Otago Bulletin).

Award for Exceptional Performance by Professional Staff

Claire Gallop, Senior Manager Client Services (based in the Faculty of Dentistry)

Claire Gallop received her award under the categories “exceptional leadership in a challenging situation,” during a period of significant change at the Faculty of Dentistry, and “exceptional service to the University community”.

She was recognised for her positive leadership, empathy, open-door policy, support, vision, values, skills training and organisation of workshops.


Excellence Award in Health and Safety (Individual)

Dr Pascal Sirguey, Senior Lecturer, School of Surveying


Excellence Award in Health and Safety (Team)

Recreation Services


Excellence Award in Health and Safety (Member of the wider Health and Safety team)

Anne Vernall, Administrator Client Services (based in the Department of Medicine, UOC)


Read the full Otago Bulletin news story

Previous Winners

  • 2017: Joint winners Sally Carson, New Zealand Marine Studies Centre, and Sze-En Watts, University Volunteer Centre
  • 2016: Joint winners Kieran Columb, Department of Human Nutrition, and Fieke Neuman, Department of Anatomy
  • 2015: Sally-Ann Howard, Department of Anatomy
  • 2014: Mark Brunton, Office of Māori Development
  • 2013: Helen Morrin, Christchurch Campus Department of Pathology
  • 2012: 'The Goddard Boys' (Jeremy Anderson, Russell Phillips, Lindsay Robertson, Jason Campbell, Richard Hamelink, Meric Hoffman, William van der Vliet, Paul O’Donnell and Hadyn Youens), Department of Psychology. Also, Carole Scott, Higher Education Development Centre
  • 2011, Joint winners Peter Stroud and Richard Sparrow, Physics Department’s Mechanical Workshop Team
  • 2010, Susan Deans, Department of Physiology
  • 2009, Nicola Walmsley, Customer Services, Information Technology Services.
  • 2008, Linda Brown, Department of Languages and Cultures.
  • 2007, Nigel Barrett, School of Physical Education.
  • 2006, Joint winners, Management Team, Arana College and Allan Mitchell, Otago Centre for Electron Microscopy, Department of Anatomy and Structural Biology.
  • 2005, Joint winners, Louise Kewene, Department of Music and Murray McKenzie, Department of Zoology.