Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

International Office staff and location

The International Office at the University of Otago is located in the north end of the Clocktower building.

Enter through the main entrance on the Leith River side of the building and ask the staff at reception for directions.

Enquiries

Future student enquiries

Enquire now
OR
Chat with our students

Other enquiries

Email international@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7000

Office address

International Office
Clocktower Building
University of Otago
Leith Street
Dunedin 9016
New Zealand

View our location on Google Maps.

Need directions to the International Office at Otago?

Please enter your starting address:


^ Top of page

Our people

Office of the Director International

Email director.international@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7629

The Director International is responsible for the overall direction of International Office and for overseeing the implementation of the University's international development strategies and linkages with institutions world-wide.

Jason CushenJason Cushen

Director International

 

Vicki van RooyenVicki van Rooyen image

Executive Assistant to the Director International

^ Top of page

 
 

International Marketing and Recruitment

Email international.marketing@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7000

The International Marketing and Recruitment team promotes and develops the international profile of the University and contributes to the internationalisation of the University by managing:

  • Marketing strategy and recruitment of international students from a diverse range of countries, across all levels and subjects of study
  • Strategic international partner relationship management, including Business Development opportunities (e.g. articulation agreements, Study Abroad partnerships, scholarship organisations, international education agents)
  • Integrated marketing and communication strategy for international students, including seminars, exhibitions and events; student ambassador programme; social/ digital campaigns; content and publications
 

Megan Smith 2020 imageMegan Smith

Manager, International Marketing and Recruitment
Email megan.smith@otago.ac.nz
Room G09

 

Hannah NguyenHannah Nguyen

Team Leader – International Marketing
Email hannah.nguyen@otago.ac.nz
Room G10

 

Gary CaoGary Cao

Regional Market Manager – South-East Asia and New Zealand onshore
(Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, and Brunei)
Email gary.cao@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

 

teri higginsTeri Higgins

Regional Market Manager - North America, Europe and Latin America
Email teri.higgins@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

 

Tam LeTam Le

Regional Market Manager – South-East Asia, Africa, and Pacific Islands
(Vietnam, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar, and Philippines)
Email tam.le@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

 

Victoria McEnieryVictoria McEniery

Regional Market Manager – South Asia and Middle East
Email victoria.mceniery@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

 

Joyce ZhangJoyce Zhang

Market Manager – Greater China and South Korea
Email china.rep@otago.ac.nz

 

Jasmine Chu 2021 imageJasmine Chu

Business Development Manager – Pathway and English Language Centre
Email jasmine.chu@otago.ac.nz

 

Karlo Feliciano 2020 imageKarlo Feliciano

International Marketing Co-ordinator
Email karlo.feliciano@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

 

Kylie PatersonKylie Paterson

International Marketing Co-ordinator
Email kylie.paterson@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

 

Meg Hellyer 2022 imageMeg Hellyer

International Marketing Co-ordinator
Email meg.hellyer@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

 

Claudia Carruthers imageClaudia Carruthers

International Marketing Co-ordinator
Email claudia.carruthers@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

 

Phillipa KeaneyPhilippa Keaney

International Marketing Projects Lead
Email philippa.keaney@otago.ac.nz
Room G10

 
 

 ^ Top of page

International Admissions

Prospective student enquiries

Enquire now

Current students, students with offers, and Otago staff

Email international.admissions@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

International Student Services

The International Student Services team provides extra support to meet the specific needs of the University’s international students and enable successful student experiences.

Services and support include:

  • Enrolment and orientation support for all international students
  • Student visa information and support
  • Insurance and US Financial Aid (eligible students only)
  • Drop-in sessions and appointments with International Student Advisers
  • Engagement activities and community events
  • Welfare support and pastoral care
  • Manaaki New Zealand Scholarships

For after-hours emergency international student support: contact the Proctor’s Office / Campus Watch on 479 5000

Danielle Yamamoto KerrDanielle Yamamoto Kerr

Manager International Student Services
Email danielle.yamamotokerr@otago.ac.nz
Room G07

 

International Student Support

In-person, virtual and email support for all New Zealand-based and online international students.

Student Support
Email international.support@otago.ac.nz

Simone FreemanSimone Freeman

Team Leader International Student Support
Email simone.freeman@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

 

Daniel BondDaniel Bond

International Student Adviser
Email daniel.bond@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

 

Donna ScottDonna Scott

International Student Adviser
Email donna.scott@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

 

Claire SlocombeClaire Slocombe

International Student Adviser 
Email claire.slocombe@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

 

Sam MehrtensSam Mehrtens image

International Student Adviser
Email sam.mehrtens@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

 

^ Top of page

Student Visa and Compliance Services

Key contacts (all international students):

Student Visa
Email student.visa@otago.ac.nz

Insurance
Email international.insurance@otago.ac.nz

US Financial
Email us.financial.aid@otago.ac.nz

Anna MacLachlanAnna McLachlan

International Compliance and USFA Specialist

 

Kathy HalliwellKathy Halliwell

Acting Team Leader, Student Visa Services
Room G01

 

Dinah Dunavan

International Compliance Services Officer
Room G01

^ Top of page

International Mobility and Partnerships

The International Mobility and Partnerships team facilitates inbound and outbound student mobility by:

  • Enabling Otago students to study overseas (Otago Global Student Exchange).
  • Connecting with students from partner institutions and facilitating their application to study at Otago on exchange.
  • Managing relationships with international exchange partner institutions.
  • Providing advice on matters relating to international partnerships, including proposals for new partnerships.

Celia CortelettiCelia Corteletti

Team Leader International Mobility and Partnerships
Exchange Adviser for Australia and Tūrangawaewae, Pōkai Whenua, Indigenous Exchange
Email celia.corteletti@otago.ac.nz
Room G06

Louisa SamsonLouisa Samson 2022 thumb

Exchange Adviser - Americas, UK and Ireland
Email louisa.samson@otago.ac.nz
Room G06

Iby ViragIby Virag

Exchange Adviser – Asia, Europe and Scandinavia
Email iby.virag@otago.ac.nz
Room G06

Chriss Hamilton image 2021Chriss Hamilton

International Partnerships Co-ordinator
(Matariki Network of Universities; New Zealand Centre at Peking University; Otago activity of the Auckland Confucius Institute; other international partnerships)
Email international.partnerships@otago.ac.nz
Room G06
Usual hours of work: Mon–Fri, 9am–1pm

^ Top of page

International Programmes Development Team

The International Programmes Development Team supports Academic divisions and departments to design and develop new (or adapted) offshore pathway and articulation programmes for international students.

Susan Steer imageSusan Steer

International Programmes Development Manager
Room: G01, Corporate Records Office (224 Hanover Street)
Tel +64 3 479 5216
Email susan.steer@otago.ac.nz

Rachel Clucas imageRachel Clucas

International Programmes Development Adviser
Room: G09, Corporate Records Office (224 Hanover Street)
Tel +64 3 479 5949
Email rachel.clucas@otago.ac.nz

Lydia Drew imageLydia Drew

International Programmes Development Adviser
Room: G09, Corporate Records Office (224 Hanover Street)
Tel +64 3 479 5299
Email lydia.drew@otago.ac.nz

Ben Levy imageBen Levy

International Programmes Development Adviser
Email ben.levy@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page