Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

International Office staff and location

The International Office at the University of Otago is located in the north end of the Clocktower building.

Enter through the main entrance on the Leith River side of the building and ask the staff at reception for directions.

Enquiries

Future student enquiries

Enquire now
OR
Chat with our students

Other enquiries

Email international@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7000

Office address

International Office
Clocktower Building
University of Otago
Leith Street
Dunedin 9016
New Zealand

View our location on Google Maps.

Need directions to the International Office at Otago?

Please enter your starting address:


^ Top of page

Our people

Office of the Director International

Email director.international@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7629

The Director International is responsible for the overall direction of International Office and for overseeing the implementation of the University's international development strategies and linkages with institutions world-wide.

Jason CushenJason Cushen

Director International

 

Vicki van RooyenVicki van Rooyen

Executive Assistant to the Director International

^ Top of page

 
 

International Marketing and Recruitment

Email international.marketing@otago.ac.nz
Tel +64 3 479 7000

The International Marketing and Recruitment team is responsible for coordinating the promotion of the University overseas by:

  • Attending seminars and exhibitions overseas for the purposes of student recruitment
  • Managing the production and distribution of International Student specific publications and materials
  • Managing the relationship with overseas agents and representatives
 

Megan Smith 2020 imageMegan Smith

Manager, International Marketing and Recruitment
Email megan.smith@otago.ac.nz
Room G09

 

Hannah NguyenHannah Nguyen

Team Leader – International Marketing
Email hannah.nguyen@otago.ac.nz
Room G10

 

Gary CaoGary Cao

Regional Market Manager – South-East Asia and New Zealand onshore
(Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, and Brunei)
Email gary.cao@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

 

teri higginsTeri Higgins

Regional Market Manager - North America, Europe and Latin America
Email teri.higgins@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

 

Tam LeTam Le

Regional Market Manager – South-East Asia, Africa, and Pacific Islands
(Vietnam, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar, and Philippines)
Email tam.le@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

 

Victoria McEnieryVictoria McEniery

Regional Market Manager – South Asia and Middle East
Email victoria.mceniery@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.50

 

Joyce ZhangJoyce Zhang

Market Manager – Greater China and South Korea
Email china.rep@otago.ac.nz

 

Jasmine Chu 2021 imageJasmine Chu

Business Development Manager – Pathway and English Language Centre
Email jasmine.chu@otago.ac.nz

 

Karlo Feliciano 2020 imageKarlo Feliciano

International Marketing Coordinator
Email karlo.feliciano@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

 

Kylie PatersonKylie Paterson

International Marketing Coordinator
Email kylie.paterson@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

 

Meg Hellyer 2022 imageMeg Hellyer

International Marketing Coordinator
Email meg.hellyer@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

 

Alex Young 2022 imageAlex Young

International Marketing Coordinator
Email alex.young@otago.ac.nz
Room 1.51

 

Phillipa KeaneyPhilippa Keaney

International Marketing Projects Lead
Email philippa.keaney@otago.ac.nz
Room G10

 
 

 ^ Top of page

International Admissions

Prospective student enquiries

Enquire now

Current students, students with offers, and Otago staff

Email international.admissions@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

International Student Services

Our team enables internationally mobile students to integrate into university study by:

  • Providing briefing and orientation programmes
  • Facilitating integration into the university and wider community
  • Providing a focal point for special communication and support

For after-hours emergency international student support: contact the Proctor’s Office / Campus Watch on 479 5000

Danielle Yamamoto KerrDanielle Yamamoto Kerr

Manager International Student Services
Email danielle.yamamotokerr@otago.ac.nz
Room G07

 

International Student Support

Student Support
Email international.support@otago.ac.nz

International Disabilities
Email international.disabilities@otago.ac.nz

Simone FreemanSimone Freeman

Team Leader Student Support
Email simone.freeman@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

 

Louisa SamsonLouisa Samson

Student Adviser
Email louisa.samson@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

 

Daniel BondDaniel Bond

Student Adviser
Email daniel.bond@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

 

Donna ScottDonna Scott

Student Adviser
Email donna.scott@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

 

Claire SlocombeClaire Slocombe

Student Adviser 
Email claire.slocombe@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

Sam Mehrtens

Student Adviser
Email sam.mehrtens@otago.ac.nz
Room G08

 

^ Top of page

Compliance Services

Opening hours

Monday to Friday 11.00am–3.30pm (hours temporarily reduced over the summer)

Student Visa Email student.visa@otago.ac.nz
Insurance Email international.insurance@otago.ac.nz
US Financial Email us.financial.aid@otago.ac.nz

Anna MacLachlanAnna McLachlan

Team Leader – Compliance Services

 

Kathy HalliwellKathy Halliwell

Student Visa Coordinator
Room G01

 

TBC

Compliance Services Officer
Room G04

^ Top of page

International Mobility and Partnerships

The International Mobility and Partnerships team facilitates inbound and outbound student mobility and manages relationships with international partner institutions by:

  • Enabling Otago students to study overseas (Otago Global Student Exchange).
  • Connecting with students from partner institutions and facilitating their application to study at Otago on exchange.
  • Managing relationships with international partner institutions.
  • Providing advice on matters relating to international partnerships, including proposals for new partnerships.

Celia CortelettiCelia Corteletti

Team Leader International Mobility and Partnerships
Exchange Adviser – Americas, Australia, Ireland and United Kingdom (until 11 July 2022)
Email celia.corteletti@otago.ac.nz
Room G06

Iby ViragIby Virag

Exchange Adviser – Asia, Europe and Scandinavia
Email iby.virag@otago.ac.nz
Room G06

Chriss Hamilton image 2021Chriss Hamilton

International Partnerships Coordinator
(Matariki Network of Universities; New Zealand Centre at Peking University; Otago activity of the Auckland Confucius Institute; other international partnerships)
Email international.partnerships@otago.ac.nz
Room G06
Usual hours of work: Mon–Fri, 9am–1pm

^ Top of page

International Programmes Development Team

The International Programmes Development Team will support the Academic divisions and departments to design and develop new (or adapted) offshore pathway and articulation programmes for international students.

Susan Steer imageSusan Steer

International Programmes Development Manager
Email susan.steer@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page