Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Last updated February, 2021

The University

Texas Tech University, often referred to as Texas Tech, Tech, or TTU, is a public research university. Established in 1923 it is the flagship institution of the four-institution Texas Tech University System. The university's student enrolment is the sixth-largest in the state of Texas, and the university offers degrees in more than 150 courses of study through 13 colleges and hosts 60 research centres and institutes. 

Lubbock is located in the northwestern part of the state, a region known historically and geographically as the Llano Estacado and ecologically is part of the southern end of the High Plains. The city is the economic centre of the Lubbock metropolitan area, has a population of approx. 320,000.

^ Top of page

Exchange information

  • Undergraduate level exchange.
  • Academic year: September - June (Fall semester: September - December; Spring semester: January - May).
  • A full time course load is 12 credit hours of undergraduate courses per semester

^ Top of page

Relevant Links

^Top of Page

Further information

For further information about Otago Global Student Exchange, please contact an Exchange Adviser.