Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Service Notices Archive

April March February January December 2018 November 2018 October 2018 September 2018 August 2018 July 2018 June 2018 May 2018 April 2018

April

Scheduled Outage: Invercargill Campus Network, 14 Apr 2019 10:00pm - 10:30pm (Resolved: Sun, 14 Apr 2019)

Scheduled Outage: High Capacity Storage (HCS), 12 Apr 2019 6:00pm – 14 Apr 2019 12:00pm (Resolved: Sun, 14 Apr 2019)

Alert: Windows Automatic Update Issue, 10 Apr 2019 - ongoing (Resolved: Fri, 12 Apr 2019)

Resolved: Unscheduled Outage: Turnitin, 8 Apr 2019, 2:00pm - 10:00pm (Resolved: Mon, 8 Apr 2019)

Scheduled Outage: Emergency IT Infrastructure Maintenance – Services as Listed, 6 Apr 2019, 8:00am – 5:00pm (Resolved: Sat, 6 Apr 2019)

Scheduled Outage: Current State Network wifi (UO-STUDENT, UO-STAFF, UO-EXTERNAL), 1 Apr 2019, 6:00pm - 6:30pm (Resolved: Mon, 1 Apr 2019)

^ Top of Page

March

Scheduled Outage: eVision, 29 Mar 2019, 5:00pm - 31 Mar 2019, 6:00pm (Resolved: Sun, 31 Mar 2019)

Alert: Titanium Upgraded, 2 Mar 2019 – 3 Mar 2019 (Resolved: Fri, 29 Mar 2019)

Scheduled Outage: Redcap unavailable, 27 March 2019, 9:00pm-10:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 27 Mar 2019)

Scheduled Outage: Eduroam, 25 March 2019, 3:00 PM - 3.10 PM (Resolved: Mon, 25 Mar 2019)

Scheduled Outage: Finance One, 22 Mar 2019 5:00pm - 25 Mar 2019 8:00am (Resolved: Mon, 25 Mar 2019)

Scheduled Outage: High Capacity Storage (Christchurch), 23 March 2019 at 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM (Resolved: Sat, 23 Mar 2019)

Scheduled Outage: Central Software Licensing Service, 22 Mar 2019 5:00pm - 10:00pm (Resolved: Fri, 22 Mar 2019)

Unscheduled: Staff sending to some microsoft addresses blocked, 11 Mar 2019 - ongoing (Resolved: Fri, 22 Mar 2019)

Scheduled: STUDENT VDI v8 Release, 11th March & 12th March 2019 (Resolved: Tue, 19 Mar 2019)

Scheduled Outage: Database servers, Windows OS Patching Update, 16 Mar 2019 11:00am - 2:00pm (Resolved: Sat, 16 Mar 2019)

Scheduled: Uniflow Printing System Intermittent Outage, 15 Mar 2019 8:00pm - 16 Mar 2019 12 noon (Resolved: Sat, 16 Mar 2019)

Resolved: Unscheduled Outage: Wired and Wireless Network Access in UOCE Tower Block, 12 Mar 2019 3:15pm ongoing (Resolved: Fri, 15 Mar 2019)

Cancelled: Scheduled Outage: High Capacity Storage Service 9 Mar 9:00am - 10 Mar 11:00pm (Resolved: Sun, 10 Mar 2019)

Information: Monthly Update, Staff Virtual Desktop (Resolved: Sat, 9 Mar 2019)

Scheduled: Staff Email Maintenance, 7 Mar 2019, 5:00pm – 2:00am (Resolved: Fri, 8 Mar 2019)

Scheduled Outage: ITS Corporate Applications, 6 Mar 2019, 5:00pm – 7:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 6 Mar 2019)

EndNote X9.1 Importing, 21 Mar 2019 (Resolved: Tue, 5 Mar 2019)

Scheduled Outage: High Capacity Storage Cluster, 2 Mar 2019 8:30am - 3 Mar 2019 9:00pm (Resolved: Sun, 3 Mar 2019)

Scheduled Outage: HCS – Wellington, 2 Mar 2019, 6:00am – 10:00am (Resolved: Sat, 2 Mar 2019)

^ Top of Page

February

Resolved: Unscheduled Outage: Student Printing Services, Tuesday 27 February 2019, from 7:00am (Resolved: Wed, 27 Feb 2019)

Resolved: Unscheduled Outage: Txting between Vodafone and Spark is currently down nationwide (Resolved: Sun, 24 Feb 2019)

Resolved: Unscheduled: Staff email sending to some @hotmail addresses blocked, 21 Feb 2019 7:00am – ongoing (Resolved: Sun, 24 Feb 2019)

Resolved: Scheduled: Future State Wireless Network Outage, 20 Feb 2019, 6:00pm – 10:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 20 Feb 2019)

Resolved: Scheduled Outage: Uniflow Printing, 20 Feb 2019, 5:30pm - 8:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 20 Feb 2019)

Resolved: Scheduled: Site Licence Database Outage, 20 Feb 2019, 5:00pm – 7:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 20 Feb 2019)

Resolved: Unscheduled eVision Outage, 20 Feb 2019 (Resolved: Wed, 20 Feb 2019)

Cancelled: eVision Outage, 20 Feb 2019, 5:00pm – 6:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 20 Feb 2019)

Current: Turnitin unavailable, 16 Feb 2019 Ongoing (Resolved: Sat, 16 Feb 2019)

Scheduled Electrical Outage: Physiotherapy Building, Ground floor, 9 Fe 2019 8:00am - 5:00pm (Resolved: Sat, 9 Feb 2019)

Scheduled: University Corporate Applications Outage, 2 Feb 2019, 11:00am - 12:00 noon (Resolved: Sat, 2 Feb 2019)

Alert: Important Zoom update available, 3 Dec 2018 - ongoing (Resolved: Sat, 2 Feb 2019)

Resolved: Unscheduled: Student Virtual Desktop Outage: 1 Feb 2019 8:30am - 3:00pm (Resolved: Fri, 1 Feb 2019)

^ Top of Page

January

macOS Mojave 10.14 support at the University of Otago (Resolved: Thu, 31 Jan 2019)

Scheduled Outage: ITS Corporate Systems, Wednesday, 16th January 2019, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM (Resolved: Wed, 16 Jan 2019)

Resolved: Scheduled: Taleo Outage, 8 Jan 2019, 7:30pm – 8:30pm (Resolved: Tue, 8 Jan 2019)

Scheduled: Turnitin Outage, 6 Jan 2019, 5:00am - 1:00pm (Resolved: Sun, 6 Jan 2019)

^ Top of Page

December 2018

Scheduled: Removal of access to student email and Office 365 for former students, 20 Nov 2018 - ongoing (Resolved: Fri, 21 Dec 2018)

Scheduled: Central Software Licensing Server Outage, 18 Dec 2018 5:00pm - Midnight (Resolved: Wed, 19 Dec 2018)

Scheduled: Central Software Licensing server, Monday 17 December 2018 - 5:00pm - 12:00am (Resolved: Tue, 18 Dec 2018)

Scheduled: Citrix Virtual Managed Desktop Upgrade, 8 Dec 2018, 9:00am - 3:00pm (Resolved: Sat, 8 Dec 2018)

Scheduled: Future State Network Outage, 7 Dec 2018, 6:00pm - 10:00pm (Resolved: Fri, 7 Dec 2018)

Scheduled: Network Backup Power Supply Maintenance, 3 Dec 2018 - 6 Dec 2018 (Resolved: Thu, 6 Dec 2018)

Scheduled: ITS Corporate Systems Outage, 5 Dec 2018, 5:00pm - 7:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 5 Dec 2018)

Scheduled: OURDrive Maintenance, 1 Dec 2018, 10:00am - 12:00noon (Resolved: Sat, 1 Dec 2018)

^ Top of Page

November 2018

Scheduled: Blackboard unavailble, 23 Nov 2018 5:00pm - 25 Nov 2018 9:30pm (Latest) (Resolved: Sun, 25 Nov 2018)

Alert: Phishing Email, 18 Nov 2018 - Current (Resolved: Fri, 23 Nov 2018)

Scheduled: ITS Corporate Systems Outage, 21 Nov 2018, 5:00pm - 7:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 21 Nov 2018)

Resolved: uniFLOW Print System Outage, 22 Nov 2018 7:00am - Ongoing (Resolved: Wed, 21 Nov 2018)

Scheduled: University Corporate Applications Outage, 17 Nov 2018, 11:00am - 2:00pm (Resolved: Sat, 17 Nov 2018)

Managed Desktop (VDI) Storefront Upgrade - Wednesday, 14 November and Thursday, 15 November 2018 (Resolved: Thu, 15 Nov 2018)

Scheduled: Website Search Update, 15 Nov 2018 10:00am - 10:30am (Resolved: Thu, 15 Nov 2018)

Scheduled: Canon Printers on Follow-Me-Print System 14 Nov 7pm - 8pm (Resolved: Wed, 14 Nov 2018)

Scheduled: eVision unavailable, 14 Nov 2018 5:00pm-6:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 14 Nov 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Alumni Net Community/Your Otago Link systems, 8 November 2018 9:00am-11:30am (Resolved: Thu, 8 Nov 2018)

Alert: Phishing Emails: Sunday, 28 October 2018 8:00am - current (Resolved: Fri, 2 Nov 2018)

^ Top of Page

October 2018

Scheduled Maintenance to Network Cabinet UPS units (Resolved: Sat, 27 Oct 2018)

Alert - Apple iTunes Gift Cards Phishing Emails: Wednesday, 10 October 2018 3:00pm - current (Resolved: Fri, 19 Oct 2018)

Scheduled Maintenance: OURDrive, 18 Oct 2018, 8:45pm - 10:00pm (Resolved: Thu, 18 Oct 2018)

Resolved: Unscheduled Outage: UO_WIFI Thursday 20 September, 4:00pm - ongoing (Resolved: Tue, 16 Oct 2018)

Scheduled Outage: ITS Corporate Systems, 3 Oct 2018 5:00pm - 7:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 3 Oct 2018)

Unscheduled Outage: Otago Capture, 3 Oct 2018 8:00am - 1:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 3 Oct 2018)

Scheduled Outage: College of Education Current State Network - 2 Oct 2018, 8:00am - 8:30am (Resolved: Tue, 2 Oct 2018)

^ Top of Page

September 2018

Unscheduled Outage: MailExpress Service - Wednesday 25 July 2018, 4:30pm - ongoing (Resolved: Sun, 30 Sep 2018)

AskOtago - Scheduled Outage: College of Education, Current State Network Service, Wired and Wireless (Resolved: Thu, 27 Sep 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Intermittent Future State Network outage (Dunedin Campus) 27 Sep 2018 11:00pm - midnight (Resolved: Tue, 25 Sep 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Turnitin; Sunday, 23 September 2018, 3:00am to 11:30am (Resolved: Fri, 21 Sep 2018)

Information: Office 365 Changes - Monday, 19 August 2018 - ongoing (Resolved: Tue, 18 Sep 2018)

Scheduled Outage: University Systems - Friday, 14 September 2018, 5:00pm - Sunday, 16 September 2018, 10:00pm (Resolved: Sun, 16 Sep 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Future State Wireless Service - Sunday, 16 September 2018, 6:00am - 9:00am (Resolved: Sun, 16 Sep 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Phone Access - University Plaza Building Thursday, 6 September 2018 from 12:00pm to 1:00pm (Resolved: Thu, 6 Sep 2018)

Scheduled Outage: eVision - Sunday 2 September 2018 - 9.00am - 5.00pm (Resolved: Sun, 2 Sep 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Power Outage, Otago Business School, 60 Clyde Street - Saturday 1 September 2018, 8:00 am - 8: 00 pm (Resolved: Sat, 1 Sep 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Isilon upgrades (High Capacity Storage) - Saturday 1 September, 9:00pm - 5:00pm (Resolved: Sat, 1 Sep 2018)

^ Top of Page

August 2018

Resolved: Unscheduled Outage: Turnitin - Wednesday 29 August 2018, 1:30pm - ongoing (Resolved: Wed, 29 Aug 2018)

Unscheduled Outage: Network at Studholme College due to a power outage - Thursday, 26 Jul 2018, 1:00pm - ongoing (Resolved: Mon, 27 Aug 2018)

Scheduled Outage: turnitin module in Blackboard - Sunday 26 August 3:00AM to 9:00AM (Resolved: Sun, 26 Aug 2018)

Scheduled Outage: High Capacity Storage service: Saturday 25 August 2018, 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM (Resolved: Sat, 25 Aug 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Recruitment System (Taleo). Saturday, 25th August 2018, 2:00 PM - 2:00 AM (Resolved: Sat, 25 Aug 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Recruitment System (Taleo). Tuesday, 21 August 2018, 2:00 AM - 5:00 AM (Resolved: Tue, 21 Aug 2018)

Scheduled Outage: High Capacity Storage: Saturday 18 August 2018 08:00 am - Sunday 19 August 2018 05:00 pm (Resolved: Sun, 19 Aug 2018)

Scheduled Outage: eVision Thursday, 16 August 2018, 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM (Resolved: Thu, 16 Aug 2018)

Scheduled Outage: ITS Corporate Systems. Wednesday 15 August 2018, 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM (Resolved: Wed, 15 Aug 2018)

Unscheduled Outage: Network and Phones in ISB and 51 Clyde Street (Resolved: Mon, 13 Aug 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Mail Express File Drop; Wednesday, 08 August 2018, 9:00pm - 10:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 8 Aug 2018)

Alert: Students Unable to Submit Assignment to Blackboard Using Safari - Friday 20 April 2018 - ongoing (Resolved: Wed, 8 Aug 2018)

Unscheduled Outage: www.otago.ac.nz, from Sunday 5 August 6:00am - 7:50am (Resolved: Sun, 5 Aug 2018)

^ Top of Page

July 2018

Unscheduled Outage: Network Issues wired and wireless - Monday, 30 July 2018 at 8:30 AM - ongoing (Resolved: Mon, 30 Jul 2018)

Emergency Scheduled Outage: Student Uniflow Printing - Friday 27 July 2018, 8:00 pm - 12: 00 am (Resolved: Fri, 27 Jul 2018)

Alert: Authentication for Production OVD authenticated applications - Thursday, 28 June 2018 at 8:30 AM (Resolved: Wed, 25 Jul 2018)

UPDATED ALERT: Student and Staff Managed Desktop (VDI) Maintenance; Tuesday 24 July 2018, 7:30pm - Wednesday 25 July 2018, 1:30am (Resolved: Wed, 25 Jul 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Finance One - Friday, 20 July 2018 at 5:30 PM - Sunday, 22 July 2018 at 11:00 PM (Resolved: Sun, 22 Jul 2018)

Scheduled Outage: UPS Backup for Network Services - Friday 20 July 2018, 9:00am - 5:30pm (Resolved: Fri, 20 Jul 2018)

Scheduled Outage: TEST Environment Corporate Systems; Friday 20 July 2018, 6:00am - 5:30pm (Resolved: Fri, 20 Jul 2018)

Unscheduled Outage: Student Printing Services, Tuesday 17 July 2018, from 9:00am (Resolved: Tue, 17 Jul 2018)

Unscheduled Outage: Student Printing charging system (Resolved: Sun, 15 Jul 2018)

Staff and Student Virtual Desktops – Getting the Best Experience (Resolved: Fri, 13 Jul 2018)

Unscheduled Outage: eVision; from Friday 13 July 2018, 12:15pm (Resolved: Fri, 13 Jul 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Network Services at Carrington College Buildings; Wednesday 11 July, 8:00am - 5:00pScheduled Outage: Network Services at Carrington College Buildings; Wednesday 11 July 2018, 8:00am - 5:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 11 Jul 2018)

Unplanned Outage: Christchurch School of Medicine - Phone System unavailable as listed - Wednesday, 4th July 2018 at 3:20 PM - ongoing (Resolved: Wed, 11 Jul 2018)

Alert: Authentication for OVD authenticated applications (Resolved: Wed, 11 Jul 2018)

Scheduled Outage: UPS Backup for Network Services - Monday 2 July 2018, 9:00am - Thursday 5 July 2018, 5:30pm (Resolved: Thu, 5 Jul 2018)

Scheduled Outage: AuthDB Maintenance Application; Wednesday 4 July, 5:00pm to 6:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 4 Jul 2018)

^ Top of Page

June 2018

Alert: Oracle Identity Management (OIM) - Changes and Potential Issues from 18 May 2018, 7pm - ongoing (Resolved: Sat, 30 Jun 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Blogs and Podcasts - Thursday, 28 June 2018 at 9:00 AM - 12:00 noon (Resolved: Thu, 28 Jun 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Student Printing - Friday 22 June 2018, 5:00pm to Monday 25 June 2018, 9:00am (Resolved: Mon, 25 Jun 2018)

Scheduled Outage: University of Otago website to Sunday 24 June 2018, 10:00am to 11:00am (Resolved: Sun, 24 Jun 2018)

Alert: Logging into Taleo, Adobe Flash error (Resolved: Tue, 19 Jun 2018)

Service Alert: Password Expiry for New University Usernames (Resolved: Fri, 15 Jun 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Student Printing Recharge Website - Wednesday 13 June 2018, 9:00am - 5:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 13 Jun 2018)

Removal of Access to IT services for Former University Staff (Resolved: Sat, 9 Jun 2018)

Scheduled Maintenance - Maori Research - Friday, 7 June 2018, 8:30am - 9:00am (Resolved: Thu, 7 Jun 2018)

Scheduled Outage: MyResearch and Maori Research - Wednesday 6 June 2018, 5:00pm - 7:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 6 Jun 2018)

^ Top of Page

May 2018

Service Alert: Vodafone MultiTXT (Resolved: Mon, 28 May 2018)

ITS Alert: Scam Phone Calls from the "Microsoft Service Department" (Resolved: Thu, 24 May 2018)

RESOLVED: Unscheduled Outage: Corporate Applications, Monday 21 May, 8:30am - ongoing (Resolved: Mon, 21 May 2018)

RESOLVED: Scheduled Outage: Identity Management - Friday, 18 May 2018 5:30PM - Monday, 21 May 2018 9:00AM (Resolved: Mon, 21 May 2018)

Scheduled Outage: UPS Backup for Network Services - Thursday 19 July 2018, 9:00am - 5:30pm (Resolved: Sun, 20 May 2018)

Scheduled Outage: ITS Corporate Systems (Disability Information and Support, Disability Note, My Research) - Wednesday, 16 May 2018, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM (Resolved: Wed, 16 May 2018)

Scheduled Outage: eVision - Wednesday 16 May 2018, 5:00pm - 6:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 16 May 2018)

Scheduled Outage: SecureIT Service - Friday 11 May 2018, 7:30am - 8:00am (Resolved: Mon, 14 May 2018)

RESOLVED: Access Disruption - Off-Campus access to Applications (Resolved: Mon, 14 May 2018)

Resolved: Unscheduled Service Outage: Corporate Application (Resolved: Thu, 10 May 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Disability Support and Information - Wednesday 9 May 2018, 12:00pm - 1:00pm (Resolved: Tue, 8 May 2018)

Information: Zoom Cloud Recording (Resolved: Sat, 5 May 2018)

Alert: Installation of Replacement UPS - No Outage Expected - Thursday 3 May 2018, 5:30PM - 5:45pm (Resolved: Thu, 3 May 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Corporate Applications - Wednesday 2 May 2018, 5:00pm - 7:00pm (Resolved: Wed, 2 May 2018)

^ Top of Page

April 2018

Unscheduled Outage (Resolved): Network - Health Sciences Division (Resolved: Mon, 30 Apr 2018)

Information: New Otago Capture for 2018 (Resolved: Mon, 30 Apr 2018)

Scheduled Outage: eVision - Friday 27 April 2018, 5:00pm - Sunday 29 April 2018, 6:00pm (Resolved: Sun, 29 Apr 2018)

Scheduled Outage: Network services in the Dunedin Medical School area - Saturday 28 April 2018, 4:00am-4:30am and 7:00pm-7:30pm (Resolved: Sat, 28 Apr 2018)

Information: www.otago.ac.nz, Corporate Applications, Taleo login and possibly other services - Saturday 21 April 2018, 8:30am - Tuesday 24 April 2018, 3:30pm (Resolved: Tue, 24 Apr 2018)

Resolved: Phone Scam Alert - Monday 9 April 2018, 9:00am - Monday 23rd April 2018 (Resolved: Tue, 24 Apr 2018)

Information: Change to Clickers - Class Response System - Friday 23 March 2018 from 6:00pm (Resolved: Mon, 23 Apr 2018)