Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic key dates

Ngā rā matua o te tau

Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan 2023 Feb 2023

July

Friday, 15 July
Last day to add semester 2 papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 29 July
Last day to delete semester 2 papers with refund of fees (11:59pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

August

Monday, 1 August
Applications for full-year and semester 1 residential college accommodation open
Monday, 1 August
Applications for Health Sciences professional programmes open
Monday, 15 August
Applications close for most entrance scholarships for 2023
Saturday, 20 August
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 27 August
Mid-semester break begins
Wednesday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Bachelor of Teaching programme in 2023

^ Top of Page

September

Thursday, 1 September
Audition applications due for Performance papers in Music and for Bachelor of Performing Arts programmes in 2023
Monday, 5 September
Semester 2 resumes
Thursday, 15 September
Applications due for first-year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy
Friday, 16 September
Last day to withdraw from semester 2 and full-year papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 30 September
Applications due for full-year and semester 1 residential college accommodation

^ Top of Page

October

Saturday, 1 October
Applications due for second-year classes in Law in 2023
Friday, 14 October
Lectures end before semester 2 examinations
Wednesday, 19 October
Semester 2 examinations begin
Monday, 24 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November

Tuesday, 1 November
Applications due for the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2023
Saturday, 12 November
Semester 2 examinations end
Tuesday, 15 November
Applications due for second-year classes in Surveying in 2023

^ Top of Page

December

Saturday, 10 December
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2023
Saturday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or semester 1 subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2023 (subject to change)
Wednesday, 14 December
Graduation ceremonies
Thursday, 15 December
Due date for submission of 2023 Summer School papers for course approval (subject to change)
Saturday, 17 December
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

January 2023

Wednesday, 4 January
University reopens
Monday, 9 January
Summer School classes begin
Monday, 9 January
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (late fee may apply)
Saturday, 14 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking semester 1 or full year papers
Sunday, 15 January
Last day to delete Summer School papers with refund of fees (11:59pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

February 2023

Monday, 6 February
Waitangi Day
Monday, 6 February
Last day to withdraw from Summer School papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 10 February
Fees due for study beginning in semester 1
Friday, 17 February
Summer School classes end
Saturday, 18 February
Summer School examinations begin
Monday, 20 February
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in semester 1
Monday, 20 February
Orientation Week commences
Monday, 20 February
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 24 February)
Thursday, 23 February
Summer School examinations end
Friday, 24 February
Preliminary lectures for semester 1 and full-year papers
Friday, 24 February
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking semester 1 and full-year papers (a late fee may apply)
Friday, 24 February
Orientation Week ends
Monday, 27 February
Formal lectures begin

1 Applications from first-year and transferring PhD and Masters’ (thesis) students may be accepted throughout the year.
2 Teaching periods, examination periods and holiday dates for Teacher Education, Dentistry, Medicine, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, and some postgraduate courses may differ from the above. Please contact the appropriate School or Department for more information.