Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic key dates

Student looking away smiling

Nov Dec Jan 2020 Feb 2020 Mar 2020 Apr 2020 May 2020 Jun 2020 Jul 2020 Aug 2020 Sep 2020 Oct 2020 Nov 2020 Dec 2020

November

Friday, 15 November
Applications due for second year classes in Surveying in 2020

^ Top of Page

December

Friday, 6 December
Live streaming of December 2019 Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 7 December
Graduation ceremonies
Tuesday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or first semester subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2020
Tuesday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2020
Wednesday, 11 December
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 14 December
Graduation ceremonies
Sunday, 15 December
Due date for submission of Summer School papers for course approval

^ Top of Page

January 2020

Friday, 3 January
University reopens
Sunday, 5 January
Latest arrival date for new international students studying at Summer School
Sunday, 5 January
Enrolment/Orientation seminar for new international students
Monday, 6 January
Summer School classes begin
Monday, 6 January
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (a late fee may apply)
Friday, 10 January
Summer School fees due
Monday, 13 January
Last day to add or delete Summer School papers (5pm deadline)
Wednesday, 15 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking Semester One or full-year papers

^ Top of Page

February 2020

Monday, 3 February
Last day to withdraw from Summer School papers (5pm deadline)
Thursday, 6 February
Waitangi Day
Monday, 10 February
Fees due for study beginning in Semester One
Monday, 10 February
Vice-Chancellor's Welcome Back to Staff
Tuesday, 11 February
Vice-Chancellor's Welcome to Parents / Students - Locals
Wednesday, 12 February
Vice-Chancellor's Welcome to Parents / Students - Residential Colleges
Thursday, 13 February
Pacific first-year students' orientation: Growing Pacific scholars 2020
Friday, 14 February
Summer School classes end
Saturday, 15 February
Summer School examinations begin
Monday, 17 February
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in Semester One
Monday, 17 February
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 21 February)
Monday, 17 February
Academic Orientation Week begins (ends 21 February)
Monday, 17 February
Academic Orientation Week commences
Monday, 17 February
Tauira Hou Pōwhiri, Moeraki Marae
Monday, 17 February
First-year Science Students
Monday, 17 February
Course advice and planning
Monday, 17 February
eTransition
Monday, 17 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Monday, 17 February
Student Village
Monday, 17 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 17 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 17 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 17 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Monday, 17 February
Campus Tour
Monday, 17 February
Locals festival - Hype Night
Monday, 17 February
Convocation Ceremony - Academic welcome for first year students
Tuesday, 18 February
Course advice and planning
Tuesday, 18 February
First-year Science students
Tuesday, 18 February
eTransition
Tuesday, 18 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Tuesday, 18 February
Campus Tour
Tuesday, 18 February
Campus Tour
Tuesday, 18 February
Locals festival - participate in the University Collegiate Sports Day
Tuesday, 18 February
University Collegiate Sports Day
Wednesday, 19 February
Locals festival - HQ Open Day
Wednesday, 19 February
First-year Science students
Wednesday, 19 February
Course advice and planning
Wednesday, 19 February
eTransition
Wednesday, 19 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Wednesday, 19 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 19 February
Introduction to LAWS 101: Pathway to the Profession
Wednesday, 19 February
Locals festival - Hype Afternoon
Wednesday, 19 February
Locals festival - Locals challenge
Wednesday, 19 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 19 February
International students - Official Welcome and Expo
Wednesday, 19 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 19 February
New international students - New Zealand culture: Spot the difference
Wednesday, 19 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Wednesday, 19 February
Campus Tour
Wednesday, 19 February
New international students - Secrets to academic success
Wednesday, 19 February
Bachelor of Arts (BA) Orientation
Wednesday, 19 February
New international students - Thrive and survive
Wednesday, 19 February
Locals festival - Pre Toga Party
Thursday, 20 February
Course advice and planning
Thursday, 20 February
Summer School examinations end
Thursday, 20 February
First-year Science students
Thursday, 20 February
eTransition
Thursday, 20 February
OUSA Clubs Day
Thursday, 20 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Thursday, 20 February
Campus Tour
Thursday, 20 February
Introduction to LAWS 101: Pathway to the Profession
Thursday, 20 February
Campus Tour
Thursday, 20 February
Tauira Māori - Hāngī lunch
Thursday, 20 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Thursday, 20 February
Campus Tour
Thursday, 20 February
Campus Tour
Thursday, 20 February
University of Otago Pacific Welcome
Friday, 21 February
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking Semester One and full-year papers (a late fee may apply)
Friday, 21 February
Academic Orientation Week ends
Friday, 21 February
Academic Orientation Week ends
Friday, 21 February
Preliminary lectures for Semester One and full-year papers
Friday, 21 February
Preliminary lectures
Friday, 21 February
Course advice and planning
Friday, 21 February
First-year Science students
Friday, 21 February
Campus Tour
Friday, 21 February
Business overview
Friday, 21 February
Campus Tour
Friday, 21 February
Business overview
Sunday, 23 February
FOFOA accommodation orientation
Sunday, 23 February
OUSA International Food Festival
Monday, 24 February
Formal lectures begin
Friday, 28 February
Last day to add Semester One or full-year papers (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

March 2020

Friday, 13 March
Last day to delete Semester One papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)
Friday, 20 March
Last day to delete full-year papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

April 2020

Wednesday, 1 April
Applications for Semester Two residential college accommodation open
Friday, 10 April
Good Friday – Mid-semester break begins
Monday, 13 April
Easter Monday
Tuesday, 14 April
Otago Anniversary Day observed (Dunedin)
Monday, 20 April
Semester One resumes
Saturday, 25 April
ANZAC Day
Monday, 27 April
ANZAC Day (observed)

^ Top of Page

May 2020

Friday, 1 May
Last day to withdraw from Semester One papers (5pm deadline)
Saturday, 9 May
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 16 May
Graduation ceremonies
Friday, 29 May
Lectures cease before mid-year examinations

^ Top of Page

June 2020

Monday, 1 June
Queen’s Birthday
Wednesday, 3 June
Semester One examinations begin
Monday, 15 June
Applications due from students taking only Semester Two papers for a programme subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2020
Wednesday, 17 June
Semester One examinations end
Thursday, 25 June
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking only Semester Two papers
Monday, 29 June
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in Semester Two
Monday, 29 June
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until Friday 3 July)

^ Top of Page

July 2020

Wednesday, 1 July
Applications open for most entrance scholarships
Monday, 6 July
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking only Semester Two papers (late fee may apply)
Monday, 6 July
Semester Two begins
Friday, 10 July
Fees due for Semester Two only enrolments
Friday, 10 July
Last day to add Semester Two papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 24 July
Last day to delete Semester Two papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

August 2020

Saturday, 1 August
Applications for full-year and Semester One residential college accommodation open
Saturday, 15 August
Graduation ceremony
Saturday, 15 August
Applications close for most entrance scholarships
Saturday, 22 August
Mid-semester break begins
Monday, 31 August
Semester Two resumes
Monday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Teacher Education programmes in 2021

^ Top of Page

September 2020

Tuesday, 1 September
Applications due for Music Performance papers in 2021
Friday, 11 September
Last day to withdraw from Semester Two and full-year papers (5pm deadline)
Tuesday, 15 September
Applications due for first-year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2021
Wednesday, 30 September
Applications due for full-year and Semester One residential college accommodation

^ Top of Page

October 2020

Thursday, 1 October
Applications due for second-year classes in Law in 2021
Friday, 9 October
Lectures end before Semester Two examinations
Wednesday, 14 October
Semester Two examinations begin
Monday, 26 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November 2020

Sunday, 1 November
Applications due for the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2020
Saturday, 7 November
Semester Two examinations end
Sunday, 15 November
Applications due for second year classes in Surveying in 2020

^ Top of Page

December 2020

Thursday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2021
Thursday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or Semester One subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2021
Saturday, 12 December
Graduation ceremonies
Tuesday, 15 December
Due date for submission of 2021 Summer School papers for course approval
Wednesday, 16 December
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 19 December
Graduation ceremonies