Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic key dates

Student looking away smiling

Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan 2019

March

Friday, 30 March
Good Friday and mid-semester break begins

^ Top of Page

April

Monday, 2 April
Easter Monday
Tuesday, 3 April
Otago Anniversary Day observed (Dunedin)
Monday, 9 April
First semester resumes
Wednesday, 25 April
ANZAC Day

^ Top of Page

May

Friday, 4 May
Last day to withdraw from first semester papers (5pm deadline)
Monday, 7 May
Live streaming of 12 & 19 May 2018 Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 12 May
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 19 May
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

June

Friday, 1 June
Lectures cease before mid-year examinations
Monday, 4 June
Queen’s Birthday
Wednesday, 6 June
First semester examinations begin
Friday, 15 June
Applications due from students taking only second semester papers for a programme subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2018
Wednesday, 20 June
First semester examinations end
Monday, 25 June
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking only second semester papers

^ Top of Page

July

Monday, 2 July
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 6 July)
Monday, 2 July
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 6 July)
Monday, 2 July
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in second semester
Thursday, 5 July
Course Advice Day
Monday, 9 July
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking only second semester papers (late fee may apply)
Monday, 9 July
Second semester begins
Tuesday, 10 July
Fees due for second semester only enrolments
Friday, 13 July
Last day to add second semester papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 27 July
Last day to delete second semester papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

August

Saturday, 18 August
Graduation ceremony
Saturday, 25 August
Mid-semester break begins
Friday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Teacher Education programmes in 2019

^ Top of Page

September

Saturday, 1 September
Applications due for Music Performance papers in 2019
Monday, 3 September
Second semester resumes
Friday, 14 September
Last day to withdraw from second semester and full year papers (5pm deadline)
Saturday, 15 September
Applications due for first year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2019

^ Top of Page

October

Monday, 1 October
Applications due for second year classes in Law and the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2019
Friday, 12 October
Lectures end before second semester examinations
Wednesday, 17 October
Second semester examinations begin
Monday, 22 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November

Saturday, 10 November
Second semester examinations end
Thursday, 15 November
Applications due for second year classes in Surveying in 2019

^ Top of Page

December

Saturday, 8 December
Graduation ceremonies
Monday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or first semester subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2019
Monday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2019
Wednesday, 12 December
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 15 December
Due date for submission of Summer School papers for course approval
Saturday, 15 December
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

January 2019

Monday, 7 January
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (late fee may apply)
Tuesday, 15 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking first semester or full years papers