Cabinet 18

Edinburgh has two distinct areas: the Old Town, the historic centre dominated by a medieval fortress; and the neo-classical New Town, which was initiated in 1766 by James Craig and his competition winning designs.

View of Edinburgh from the Castle.

The hollow that was once Nor Loch between the Old and New Towns is now The Mound, where the National Gallery of Scotland is now situated.

Another area of increasing importance is the West End, which boasts cultural venues such as Usher Hall, the Film-house, the Royal Lyceum and the Traverse Theatre.

In 1995, both the Old and New Towns were designated UNESCO World Heritage sites.

‘View of Edinburgh from the Castle’. From John Parker Lawson’s Scotland Delineated. London: Day and Son, 1858.